PDA

View Full Version : AnyLink: Extra space appear at the bottom of website



Kylie
07-22-2010, 08:40 AM
1) Script Title: AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu v2.2

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem:
Extra space appear at the bottom of website after code inserted.

Before:
http://www.qiaoxinguan.com/Imgs/Others/b4.jpg

After:
http://www.qiaoxinguan.com/Imgs/Others/after.jpg


I found another problem when viewing the page by Chrome:
http://www.qiaoxinguan.com/Imgs/Others/distance.jpg

jscheuer1
07-22-2010, 11:58 AM
The demo page here on Dynamic Drive has neither of those problems. Make sure your page has a valid URL DOCTYPE, and that you have followed the installation instructions.

If you want more help:

Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

Kaerdak
07-23-2010, 12:31 PM
Hi,
I used this js today and it's being a very fast and useful solution (thanks a lot to the creator), btw i encountered same problem described in this thread...
i've managed to resolve it changing:

//document.body.appendChild(menu.dropmenu) //move drop down div to end of page
//document.body.appendChild(menu.shadow)

with

document.getElementById('contenuti').appendChild(menu.dropmenu) //move drop down div to end of page
document.getElementById('contenuti').appendChild(menu.shadow)

jscheuer1
07-23-2010, 02:15 PM
Hi,
I used this js today and it's being a very fast and useful solution (thanks a lot to the creator), btw i encountered same problem described in this thread...
i've managed to resolve it changing:

//document.body.appendChild(menu.dropmenu) //move drop down div to end of page
//document.body.appendChild(menu.shadow)

with

document.getElementById('contenuti').appendChild(menu.dropmenu) //move drop down div to end of page
document.getElementById('contenuti').appendChild(menu.shadow)

There is no such code in this script. Perhaps you have it confused with another anylink script.

Kaerdak
07-24-2010, 12:48 PM
There is no such code in this script. Perhaps you have it confused with another anylink script.

i've switched to the other version of this script and fixed the problem (present there too) in this way.

AnyLink CSS Menu v2.2 (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/anylinkcss.htm)

I can't show right now a preview of the website where i used it cause i'm not allowed to do it but with this fix it works cross browser with no problems.

jscheuer1
07-24-2010, 02:35 PM
Could you show your modified version of the anylinkcssmenu.js file and any other modifications that you made for the installation of that menu, the AnyLink CSS Menu v2.2?

What follows notwithstanding here, as your information might prove very helpful to Kylie and others.

But, like I say, the demo page:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/anylinkcss.htm

here on Dynamic Drive for that menu shows none of the problems mentioned in the original post in this thread. So there almost must be a way, using a standards compliant web page, and the default install, that will not have these problems.

lvt
08-12-2012, 06:52 AM
Hi,

Don't remove or disable the CSS code for the shadow (at the bottom of the CSS file).

Change the shadow color from 'black' (default) to other color that matches your website will fix the problem.