PDA

View Full Version : Problem With Smooth Navigational Menu



FrankJohnson
06-27-2010, 05:27 AM
1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:
I'm trying to implement this script on this page (it's a draft site right now, not ready for public viewing, so there are other issues):

http://96.30.41.68/~agncno/

I'm trying to use images instead of text for the main menu items.

When I add the submenu unordered list, the submenus work correctly except they seem to add padding to the right of each of the images.

The menu is supposed to look like it does on this page:

http://96.30.41.68/~agncno/index.php/weblog/news/category/student_ministries/

I put all of the content from the two style sheets into my main style sheet here:

http://96.30.41.68/~agncno/index.php/weblog/screencss/

Could that be the problem, or might there be something else?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer - I really appreciate it.

Frank

bluewalrus
06-27-2010, 06:09 AM
In the JS file ddsmooth.js or something similiar change the padding to 0 from 23 or copy the code below and replace it in the file



var ddsmoothmenu={

//Specify full URL to down and right arrow images (23 is padding-right added to top level LIs with drop downs):
arrowimages: {down:['downarrowclass', 'down.gif', 0], right:['rightarrowclass', 'right.gif']},
transition: {overtime:300, outtime:300}, //duration of slide in/ out animation, in milliseconds
shadow: {enable:true, offsetx:5, offsety:5}, //enable shadow?
showhidedelay: {showdelay: 100, hidedelay: 200}, //set delay in milliseconds before sub menus appear and disappear, respectively


I think that'll do it.

FrankJohnson
06-27-2010, 02:18 PM
Thanks so much bluewalrus! Worked like a charm!

Frank

FrankJohnson
06-30-2010, 01:58 AM
Now I'm noticing another problem with the same script here:

http://96.30.41.68/~agncno/

Four of the items on the menu (Home, Recommended Links, Donate, and Login) don't have associated drop-downs. They are meant simply to take the user to a single page.

But these menu items don't seem to have links (even though there are links in the code) - when hovering over the text within the graphic, the cursor does not change to a hand, but if I move the cursor slightly below or slightly above the text within the graphic (even though it's still hovering over the same graphic), the cursor does change to a hand and I can click and be taken to the linked page (even though, at the moment, you would get a 404 error simply because I haven't set the links correctly yet - but they are links in the code).

I'm only noticing this behavior in Firefox, not in Internet Explorer (if you visit the page in Internet Explorer, you'll notice that I have to remove the down arrows from the script code - that's the next part of my project).

Thanks in advance!

Frank