PDA

View Full Version : Chrome OK IE Not



spokes
05-27-2010, 04:39 PM
1) Script Title: AnyLink Drop Down JS v 2.2

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem: Hi - I have added the Anylink JS Drop Down menu 2.2 to my site and i thought the bug which would not allow IE to fire the drop down was fixed. Either I still have the old files although I downloaded the files again to get the updated ones. However while the drop Dowm works perfectly well in Chrome, I cannot get it to work in IE. Help please.
Thanks

jscheuer1
05-27-2010, 07:39 PM
That only applies to a frame page. Are you using frames?

In any case:

Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

spokes
05-27-2010, 11:12 PM
No I am not using frames.
here is the link to one of the pages om the site. On the archive button i have added the dropdown menu.
www.israelspokes.com/about_us.html
thanks.

jscheuer1
05-28-2010, 08:49 AM
OK, it's not working in a number of browsers, not just IE. The page is pretty quirky. I found that by moving the link outside of the button, it worked:


<a href="" class="menuanchorclass" rel="archiveEN"><button style="background-color:transparent ;width:75;height:23;cursor:pointer"> <b><FONT SIZE="1" COLOR="#c23a01" face=verdana>Archives</FONT></b>

</button></a>

spokes
05-28-2010, 01:27 PM
Thanks John, Now it seems to work with the link outside of the button.
Next question. The page is dual language. Hebrew is RTL. How can i cause the hebrew script in the drop down menu to start from the right of the drop down box?
thanks

jscheuer1
05-28-2010, 03:05 PM
If you mean position, it does. However, if there isn't enough room to the right, it will be forced to the left.

If you mean the direction of the text contained within it, give the parent node a style:


direction: rtl;

Ex:


<li><a href="http://www.israelspokes.com/ridereports.html" target="" style="direction: rtl;">רכיבות</a></li>

spokes
05-29-2010, 04:45 PM
Hi John
Hebrew text begins from the right. Even with the class=direction:RTL it still does not force the Hebrew word to align to the right of the menu box. Can this be done?
thanks

jscheuer1
05-29-2010, 06:43 PM
class=direction:RTL

is meaningless, try my suggestion:


<li><a href="http://www.israelspokes.com/ridereports.html" target="" style="direction: rtl;">רכיבות</a></li>

spokes
05-29-2010, 07:37 PM
tried this and still does not achieve anything. I am trying to align the hebrew words to the right side of the drop down box.
thanks

jscheuer1
05-29-2010, 09:12 PM
I really don't understand what you are after. I don't read Hebrew so couldn't know if the direction of the text is already OK, which I'm guessing it is. If so, then all you need is to align the drop down to the right of the trigger.

If that's the case, it already is. Except if there isn't enough room to the right. In which case it will be forced to align to the left.

But, I'm thinking there might be some other issue. If so, please be as precise as possible in describing it.

jscheuer1
05-29-2010, 09:29 PM
Ah, the light finally went on. What you want is the style:


text-align: right;

I'm not sure exactly where to apply this. It would be to the nearest block level parent of the text that you want aligned in such a way. Since the a tag is set to block level, that would probably do:


<li><a href="http://www.israelspokes.com/ridereports.html" target="" style="text-align: right;">רכיבות</a></li>

spokes
05-30-2010, 05:42 PM
Ok maybe I did not explain well. In English the word is aligned left so that the writing always starts from the left hand side of the page. In hebrew the writing starts from the right hand side of the page. When i add a drop down box with English then, correctly the alignment is from the left but when i do the same in hebrew, the alignment is ALSO from the left when it should be from the right.
The actual Hebrew word is correct just the alignment within the box is not.
I hope this is a clearer explanation.
thanks

jscheuer1
05-30-2010, 05:51 PM
Try:


<li><a href="http://www.israelspokes.com/ridereports.html" target="" style="text-align: right;">רכיבות</a></li>

molendijk
05-30-2010, 07:04 PM
If you allow me to interfere: it seems that there is much more involved here than just text-align and direction, see this (http://www.w3.org/International/tutorials/bidi-xhtml/).
===
Arie Molendijk.

spokes
05-30-2010, 07:08 PM
Hebrew writing is right aligned. As you see on the drop down menu the writing, although correct is left aligned (as in English) . I want (if possible ) to right align the hebrew writing.
thanks

spokes
05-30-2010, 07:17 PM
Arie - I am aware of the link you sent and use this throughout the whole site, however i cannot find a way to cause the hebrew writing in the drop down box to right align.

molendijk
05-30-2010, 07:17 PM
Hebrew writing is right aligned. As you see on the drop down menu the writing, although correct is left aligned (as in English) . I want (if possible ) to right align the hebrew writing.
thanks
Well, you could try to do it with images, or reverse writing (but that's not efficient), or hope for a good idea by John. He often has solutions where others fail.
===
Arie.

spokes
05-30-2010, 07:46 PM
John
As I am using the Anylink JS...I dont use the (li) tag at all. I use the menucontent.js file to add drop down values.
As such i need to know where to put the style=text-align:right. Whatever I tried does not seem to work.

spokes
05-30-2010, 08:01 PM
Hi John
Did it! I added the "text-align:right" to the INLINESTYLE in the menucontents.js file and that solved the problem. It works in chrome and IE.
Thanks a lot for your help

jscheuer1
05-31-2010, 01:27 AM
Glad it worked out. Sorry I was so dense to begin with. I would be one of the first to admit that I'm not much of a linguist.

I did actually mock this up though, and noticed that when text was aligned right (at least the way I did it), that it was perhaps too snug against the right side of the box. Right padding or right margin of a few pixels should fix that. Once again though, I'm not certain exactly where that should be applied.