PDA

View Full Version : Step Carousel Viewer IE8 Issue



SirSteve
05-22-2010, 11:32 PM
1) Script Title: Step Carousel Viewer v1.8

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/stepcarousel.htm

3) Describe problem: In FF, it works great. However in IE8, when I hit the last panel, it returns to the first one.

URL: http://test.collectionstation.com/

Reproduce Steps:

1. Click "Take A Tour"
2. Click "Next" all the way until the "Share" panel.
3. Click "Next" one more time and in IE8, it returns you to panel 1 but FF does correct and continues to the next (last) panel.

jscheuer1
05-23-2010, 03:48 AM
Not so here in IE 8. Perhaps you corrected it and/or are/were viewing a cached copy of the page in IE 8. Close the page and cear IE 8's cache, then try again. However, there is an error reported in IE 8, browser mode IE 7. It's a little cryptic. But it indicates that here (from the page's source code):


<script type="text/javascript">
var RecaptchaOptions = {
theme : 'custom',
};
Core.Library.Load('Ajax');
Core.Library.Load('Tip');
Core.Library.Load('page_libraries/Index');
Core.EventHandler.QuickOnload(function() {
Core.Library.PollLoaded('Index', function() {
Core.Index.Validation.Init({
minimumage : 13
});
});
Core.Library.PollLoaded('Tip', function() {
Core.Tip.Init();
Core.Tip.Enable('.cstooltip');
});
});
</script>

See the red comma at the end of the highlighted line? That's technically a syntax error (no comma allowed after the last property in an object). Virtually all browsers now error correct for that, IE 7 doesn't.

As for IE 8 in IE 8 mode, it too reports an error, also cryptic:


'length' is null or not an object jquery-1.4.1.min.js, line 31 character 6

This could refer to the same thing. In any case though, it points up the fact that you are using jQuery version 1.4.1 - Which is an outdated flawed version in the jQuery 1.4 series. Last I checked, 1.4.2 is the current most stable version.

So I would suggest correcting the syntax error and updating to jQuery 1.4.2. It can be optained here (right click and 'save as'):

http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js

However, your version of jQuery 1.4.1 isn't the official version. It adds the no conflict mode and tests to make sure that another version of jQuery isn't already in use. To add that functionality (which apparently is at least in part required by your page) to version 1.4.2, preface its code with:


if(typeof(jQuery) != 'function'){

and add this to the end of its code:


jQuery.noConflict();
}

There is also an error reported in Firefox:


Error: oldtitle is undefined
Source File: http://test.collectionstation.com/assets/javascript/Helpers/qTip/jquery.qtip.min.js?cache=1274584833915
Line: 18

This would tend to indicate that you have one or more elements (tags) on your page that qualify for treatment by jQuery qTip that have/has no title attribute. But it could be something else.

It's probably a non-fatal error in Firefox, but might be (as far as the qTip script goes), and/or might be fatal for qTip or scripts in general in other browsers.

SirSteve
05-23-2010, 08:28 PM
Hmm... I still have the issue on my end. I'll update jquery and hopefully it fixes it.

SirSteve
05-24-2010, 09:37 PM
Update done. It made no difference...

jscheuer1
05-25-2010, 07:33 AM
As I say, works fine here in IE 8, are you sure we are both looking at the same page?