PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic Ajax Content not working in IE



djvk87
05-20-2010, 12:53 AM
1) Script Title: Dynamic Ajax Content

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm

3) Describe problem: I have set up a parts index/catalogue system on my website using the Dynamix Ajax Content script and it works quite well in firefox but Internet Explorer breaks it. I'm not sure why as the demo on DD works fine in Internet Explorer. I have gone over the code and I can't find what the problem is and was wondering if anyone here can see what I've missed.

You can view the website at http://wbs.dj-vk.com/yanmar/spareparts.php

If you click through the navigational menu to a part type (ie. Valves) it should change the content to the right saying 'Valves content here'.
This works fine in Firefox, just not internet explorer.

Thank You

djvk87
05-20-2010, 05:15 AM
For further information to help, IE reports the problem as follows...

'document.getElementById(...)' is null or not an object

I did a google search for this and it turned up results on IE not handling this properly but the demo page shows that it works in IE. What am I doing wrong?

djvk87
05-21-2010, 12:16 AM
Ok, I have narrowed it down to being a conflict between the 2 scripts I'm using from here.

1. Dynamix Ajax Content (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxcontent.htm)
2. Drill Down Menu (v1.6) (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/drilldownmenu.htm)

I'm not sure why there is a conflict between the two but it only happens in Internet Explorer. Firefox runs the page perfect but Internet Explorer has errors.

The Dynamic Ajax Content links only break in Internet Explorer when Drill Down Menu is running on the page aswell. Which is unfortunanty because thats exactly where I want the links to be.

Any ideas on what the conflict may be?

djvk87
05-26-2010, 03:14 AM
surely some smart person on this forum knows why this isn't working and can help? :(