PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Problem with link in marquee script



insanerc
05-11-2010, 05:32 PM
1) Script Title:
Cross browser Marquee II
2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/template.htm
3) Describe problem:
Hi all, I installed this script on my website a couple of days ago and have a problem with links. I love the script but it tries to open links in the infobox that I have put it in. I'm sure out of a box it would work but I'm trying to keep the site looking as it does. Here is a link to my website. Try clicking on the image link within the marquee to see the problem. http://xtreme-rc-hobbies.net

Any help would be great!

Thanks,
David

insanerc
05-11-2010, 08:13 PM
Okay, here's a little more info as I try to work through this. No ideas from anyone yet :confused:

I have now managed to get the links to pull up the full page, the only problem, it's a new/extra page. I really need this to change the page to the correct one instead of opening a new page. This will probably be confusing to my customers.

But for those that may have the same problem here is the work around that got me out of the box. Simply add target="_blank" to your link.

Example: Here's would be the original link in the marquee script:
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com">Dynamic Drive.</a>

Here is the new link:
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com" target="_blank">Dynamic Drive.</a>

This at least gets the new page to come up. Though it doesn't change the existing page :(

insanerc
05-11-2010, 08:46 PM
Well, here it is finally. I found the answer and now it works great! Instead of adding target="_blank" to your link, add target="_parent". It's the total solution. Hope this helps someone. :)