PDA

View Full Version : Begginner Help

crobinson42
05-03-2010, 04:50 AM
hello,

I'm new to php(self taught from a book 'head first php&mysql').

I have started a small janitorial business in CA. I have some background with html and flash, and recently jumped into php because of an idea a had!

I am building a website for my business:

My goal is to create a web application for me to add employee's, & clients to give username/passwords for:
1. The employee's to check their schedule and request time off etc.
2. The clients to see who and when the janitorial service will be performed.

I am baffled at how this will all work.

My Question:(forgive me if it's a dumb Q!)

How will I build a schedule and attach it to a an employee and location? In otherwords, how can I create a SELECT statement to view the 'EMPLOYEE' & the 'SCHEDULE & LOCATION' assigned to them? It's not like I can put a field in every employee table with 7 days and also the hours for the days!?

I'm pretty lost with this one...maybe because I haven't had enough experience in php..

Thank you for taking the time to read my post!
Cory Robinson
cw.robinson@live.com

djr33
05-03-2010, 06:12 AM
That's not really a question for PHP but just databases in general. This is not something that can really be easily taught either. Even experienced programmers sometimes need to take a step back and think about the best way to design their database.

Basically the usual way to create tables is like this:
1. Create 1 table for each "entity" you want to put in the database. Create a users [employees?] table, create a messages table, create a locations table, etc.
2. For each of those ONLY add details that are INHERENT descriptions of each thing. So each employee will have a name, an id, years of experience, an email, etc., but do NOT try to force each message they send or each hour they work into that.