PDA

View Full Version : how to run any javascript on internet explorer ???



sanduwa
04-28-2010, 08:42 AM
Hi all,
I'm beginner to web designing.

I have designed a web page including java scripts & css.

It's run on Firefox and google chrome perfectly.

But not working on IE6 and IE7. it's giving a massage "cannot open internet site D:\test.htm , operation aborted"

sometimes it's working in the very first time. once refresh then giving that message.

at that time also font size has changed.
what should I do now ? is there any solution for this ?

djr33
04-28-2010, 07:22 PM
Link to your page. How can we help without that? Do you want a guess?

The general answer is that IE has different ways to run javascript than the other browsers. Only practice and trial and error can actually fix this sort of problem. Of course if someone who does know what's wrong then they can perhaps tell you how to fix it-- but only if they can see it.

traq
04-28-2010, 08:33 PM
...
"cannot open internet site D:\test.htm , operation aborted" [/LIST]
...

are you testing your page locally? try putting it online, then see if the problem is still there.

As for the font sizes, as djr said, different browsers just do things differently. If it's really an issue, you might want to look into css resets.

sanduwa
04-29-2010, 02:54 AM
djr33 & traq, thanks for responding me....

djir33, I have mail a simple code to you. If you can please help me. It would be great help

than you,
sanduwa.

BLiZZaRD
04-29-2010, 04:05 AM
By default, IE blocks javascript execution from a local HTML file.

To allow local execution :

Tools -> Internet Options -> Advanced Tab -> Allow Active Content

Note: There are two boxes that need to be checked:
one is for the PC and one is for the CD Drive.

sanduwa
04-29-2010, 04:38 AM
no no BLiZZaRD, this is not a that kind of matter. If you have time to check-out what is it, I can mail you the codes. Then you can run on IE and difference browsers.

thank you

traq
04-29-2010, 04:56 AM
... I can mail you the codes. Then you can run on IE and difference browsers...

it would be easier (and you'd get better results) linking to a live page.

I'd offer to help, but when I upgraded my computer last the tech removed all my old versions of IE... I haven't brought myself to reinstall them yet...

:p

sanduwa
04-29-2010, 05:20 AM
Thank you traq. thank you very much for your kindly help.
I'll mail you a sample of code :)
check whether, why that's happening....

thinks.

jscheuer1
04-29-2010, 05:41 AM
A common problem in IE is markup. If a script runs fine in other browsers, but not in IE, especially if IE will not even load the page, it is often the markup. Either the markup itself is invalid, and/or the initialization of the script tries to modify an element (HTML tag) on the page before it has been fully parsed by IE.

sanduwa
04-29-2010, 05:49 AM
Mr jscheuer1,
the code that you post on
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54023&page=2

not working perfectly. still it's giving the same error massage.

thank you very much.

BLiZZaRD
04-29-2010, 07:43 PM
no no BLiZZaRD, this is not a that kind of matter. If you have time to check-out what is it, I can mail you the codes. Then you can run on IE and difference browsers.

thank you

Well, it appears as such...



cannot open internet site D:\test.htm


"D:\" is a local drive, not a web site. You are obviously running the page locally, and calling another local file. So, unless you upload the page to an internet site, there really is no helping you out here. The code can be perfect, and sending it to us probably wont help at all. Upload it, and if the problem persists, provide a link to that page so others can see the problem first hand, and you will get a helpful answer.

Letting everyone guess won't get you far, but I will try again:

The pickles div in the header section of the flux capacitor are set to have a zero width margin at 9 pixels wide. Your problem lies in there. Take the page to 88mph and everything should be fine.

jscheuer1
04-30-2010, 01:41 AM
Mr jscheuer1,
the code that you post on
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54023&page=2

not working perfectly. still it's giving the same error massage.

thank you very much.

What error message?




The pickles div in the header section of the flux capacitor are set to have a zero width margin at 9 pixels wide. Your problem lies in there. Take the page to 88mph and everything should be fine.

Kosher pickles? It could be important.

BLiZZaRD
04-30-2010, 07:47 PM
Ohh... probably is the delimiter value! No, not Kosher, Sweet Dill, as is obvious as kosher pickles wont have anything to do to affect the Flux Capacitor. Duh.

jscheuer1
05-01-2010, 12:31 AM
Mr jscheuer1,
the code that you post on
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54023&page=2

not working perfectly. still it's giving the same error massage.

thank you very much.

Still waiting on that error message, the specifics actually could be important.

Now, with tongue firmly in cheek:


Ohh... probably is the delimiter value! No, not Kosher, Sweet Dill, as is obvious as kosher pickles wont have anything to do to affect the Flux Capacitor. Duh.

Must be a Flash thing. In javascript sweet pickles almost always lead to free radicals which often mess things up. Which Flux Capacitor are you using? Does it have a phase discriminator.

BLiZZaRD
05-01-2010, 01:10 AM
Umm, not my page so I can't tell. But I am assuming no, as the lack of Kosher Dills means that the Flux is producing plutonium and Krupps Coffina. No free radicals there.

traq
05-01-2010, 02:17 AM
Your neutrinos are drifting.

jscheuer1
05-01-2010, 03:46 AM
That was no trino, that was my wife.

sanduwa
05-01-2010, 09:22 AM
wow nice discussion.....

traq
05-01-2010, 04:25 PM
just waitin' for you! Can you post the error message or a link to the page? we'd love to help, but we can't do much more without knowing what's going on.


I got your email. As I've said several times (in this thread and via PM), I don't have older versions of IE installed on my system. However, your page works fine in IE8 and in compatibility mode for IE7 and IE6 - it opens, the javascript runs, and I don't see any problems.

If you need more help, you will have to make your page available online so more people can see it and help you troubleshoot the problem.

sanduwa
05-03-2010, 10:19 AM
thank you