PDA

View Full Version : My slide show is a "no-show"



AnneLayne
04-23-2010, 05:30 AM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade In Slideshow

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: :confused: I am lost as a goose... There has to be something that I am just not understanding/ overlooking. I have been reading the help threads for a week now to try and figure it out on my own, but my slide show is a "no-show". I have been trying to get the code for this nifty slide show to work with my website... www.annelayneonline.com , but when I think I have found the solution, after finding someone else's thread that is also having problems, and I insert the "fix" into the correct areas, nothing happens. Will someone please take a look at my site, and assist me? By the way, be aware that the reason it does not work in my site is probably none other than me being new to all this code stuff, so please be elementary in your explanation. In other words, don't assume I know even the smallest detail.:)

Oh, by the way, I don't know if this makes any difference, but the slide show is only suppose to be on my home page. I am not sure the way I have the code now that it would show up on all pages if it was actually working.

ddadmin
04-23-2010, 10:26 AM
There may be other issues, but the reference to the .js file in the HEAD section of your page is broken:


<script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">

Make sure you upload fadeslideshow.js to your server so the following reference loads the .js file and not a file not found page: http://www.annelayneonline.com/fadeslideshow.js

AnneLayne
04-23-2010, 01:37 PM
I think I have fixed the item above, but it still doesn't work. It no longer gives me the warning that that file is undefined, but it is telling me now "object expected" in part of the code it says not to edit beyond.

AnneLayne
04-23-2010, 01:51 PM
I fixed it... I had removed the jQuery.noConflict() and <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
as was a fix in another thread that I read.

My "no-show" is now a "GO-SHOW"!!!

Thanks, I hope this helps someone else!

jscheuer1
04-23-2010, 01:55 PM
You have two jQuery scripts associated with the page in different spots (here shown together):


<script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" src="https://www.annelayneonline.com/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.3.min.js"></script>
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="https://www.annelayneonline.com/javascript/jquery/jquery-1.3.min.js"></script>


Neither is the right version or in the right place for the slideshow. The version might not be important, but the placement is.

Get rid of both of those (jQuery only needs to be associated with a page once, it can then service the entire page), then add the highlighted:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<html>

<!-- Site Design by Avalon Rose Design -->
<!-- www.theavalonrose.com -->
<!-- Written on 03/27/09 -->

<head>
<title>FREE SHIPPING ~ Posh ~ Chique ~ Unique Gifts For All</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<META HTTP-EQUIV="imagetoolbar" CONTENT="no">
<meta name="google-site-verification" content="rQamY7sG6qSofbrIrjHa_dwonLEyJw_c0iR9TPJnCEo" />
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" href="http://www.annelayneonline.com/styles.css">

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.annelayneonline.com/uploads/fadeslideshow.js">

/***********************************************
* Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
***********************************************/

</script>

<script type="text/javascript">

var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
dimensions: [425, 300], //wi

AnneLayne
04-23-2010, 02:14 PM
OK my slideshow is working but I am getting this error... Error: DIV with ID "fadeshow1" not found on page.... when I click on the New, Sale, or Featured links on the homepage. How do I fix this?

AnneLayne
04-23-2010, 03:30 PM
I fixed it... I found a thread that had the same problem.

jscheuer1
04-23-2010, 03:34 PM
It's not. If you want a slide show on those pages, you need a:


<div id="fadeshow1"></div>

on each page. If you don't, remove the slide show scripts from those pages.

AnneLayne
04-24-2010, 03:12 AM
:D Extremely gracious for your help, John & other admins!!!