PDA

View Full Version : $20 for menu fix



loventruth
04-15-2010, 04:30 PM
Menu won't drop down, need it to be fixed. Javascript and php coding used throughout website.

Will pay by paypal to person who can fix it.

djr33
04-15-2010, 05:12 PM
When asking for help, as always, post specific information such as a link to your website. Since you are offering to pay, I suppose it's your choice, but don't be surprised if you have no responses due to lack of information. "Javascript and PHP" covers a lot of territory-- might be a lot of work. Seeing a basic example of what's wrong will help you find someone. For example, if it's mostly a PHP issue, I might do it, but I'm not great with Javascript so it's probably better for someone else.

loventruth
04-15-2010, 07:16 PM
thanks for the advice. I think its a javascript problem and its an amendment of a command or somethinng thats wrong. The website is written mainly in php. The menu however seems to use both types of files.

BLiZZaRD
04-15-2010, 09:16 PM
Its because your main menu (the buttons you can see) are inside a table. Remove the table and convert it to a DIV and your problem will most likely be fixed.

loventruth
04-15-2010, 10:22 PM
Its because your main menu (the buttons you can see) are inside a table. Remove the table and convert it to a DIV and your problem will most likely be fixed.

Thanks I tried a couple of times to do what you suggested maybe am not doing it right, coz i ended up with the menu going down instead of accross the page and the buttons merged into one button. I recently cleaned off some malware and I edited the main menu file and the chrome.js file and that is where the problems began as before that the menus dropped down and I didn't touch that part of the coding so it was always in a table but it worked before. So am sure its not because of that.

BLiZZaRD
04-16-2010, 12:09 AM
In this instance you most likely deleted a portion of the code in the HTML (i.e a div ID or class) If it worked before you had virus problems then I would suggest removing it completely, and re "installing" it from scratch. There is probably a portion or two in the wrong order of removed on accident.

Be careful though that you don't fall into the 'lazy coder' category and remove it after copying what is there and re-installing it by pasting it all back. ;) Do it like it was never there in the first place.

Use the old copy for reference but don't copy and paste it.

loventruth
04-16-2010, 09:10 AM
In this instance you most likely deleted a portion of the code in the HTML (i.e a div ID or class) If it worked before you had virus problems then I would suggest removing it completely, and re "installing" it from scratch. There is probably a portion or two in the wrong order of removed on accident.

Be careful though that you don't fall into the 'lazy coder' category and remove it after copying what is there and re-installing it by pasting it all back. ;) Do it like it was never there in the first place.

Use the old copy for reference but don't copy and paste it.

Difficulty is its a new site, didn't get a copy of the original files from the people who created the site, they just logged in to install it. Didn't make a copy of the original files. I think that is what happened and its only really a couple of files that operate that menu so I have been focusing on them. Its probably something really simple. I am not a professional though so I wouldn't see it.

traq
04-16-2010, 07:13 PM
Difficulty is its a new site, didn't get a copy of the original files from the people who created the site ... Its probably something really simple.

unfortunately, the fact that someone else designed it and you don't have a working backup may make it far more complicated. :(

I'll look at it for you when I get a chance, if you'd like, and give you an estimate. You can also contact me here (http://www.custom-anything.com/contactme.php).

BLiZZaRD
04-16-2010, 11:02 PM
Umm, not to sound mean or pedantic but...

from the JS source code:



//** Chrome Drop Down Menu- Author: Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)


Link Found here (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/chrome/index.htm)

traq
04-16-2010, 11:39 PM
from the JS source code://** Chrome Drop Down Menu

I hadn't looked yet. That would make it easier. Thanks


You had some error in your copy of chrome.js. Using a clean copy and putting your menu in a <ul> instead of a <table> solves the drop-down problem. use the code below to replace the <td> in question. I can look at getting the css straightened out if you'd like it to look like it did before; let me know (http://www.custom-anything.com/contactme.php).



<td height="40" align="left" valign="middle" <!--class="chromestyle" id="chromemenu"-->>
<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<div id="chromemenu" class="chromestyle">
<ul>
<li><a href="#" rel="dropmenu1" >&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Get Involved&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></li>
<li><a href="#" rel="dropmenu2" >&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Poverty&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></li>
<li><a href="#" rel="dropmenu3">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Campaigns&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</a></li>
<li><a href="#" rel="dropmenu4">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Small Biz Social Enterprise&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></li>
<li><a href="#" rel="dropmenu5" >&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Football & HIV Projects&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></li>
</ul>
</div>
<!--<td width="168" align="center" valign="middle"><a href="#" rel="dropmenu1" >&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Get Involved&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></td>
<td width="2"><img src="images/menudivid.jpg" width="2" height="40" alt="" /></td>
<td width="168" align="center" valign="middle"><a href="#" rel="dropmenu2" >&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Poverty&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></td>
<td width="2"><img src="images/menudivid.jpg" width="2" height="40" alt="" /></td>
<td width="168" align="center" valign="middle"><a href="#" rel="dropmenu3">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Campaigns&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;</a></td>
<td width="2"><img src="images/menudivid.jpg" width="2" height="40" alt="" /></td>

<td width="168" align="center" valign="middle"><a href="#" rel="dropmenu4">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Small Biz Social Enterprise&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></td>
<td width="2"><img src="images/menudivid.jpg" width="2" height="40" alt="" /></td>
<td width="168" align="center" valign="middle"><a href="#" rel="dropmenu5" >&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Football & HIV Projects&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; </a></td>
--></tr>
<!--1st drop down menu -->
<div id="dropmenu1" class="dropmenudiv" style="width: 168px; margin:14px 0 0 0"> <a href="contents.php?cms=professionals">Professionals for Social &nbsp;Justice</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=volunteer">Volunteer</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=trustees">Board of Trustees</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=about">About Us</a></div>

<!--2nd drop down menu -->
<div id="dropmenu2" class="dropmenudiv" style="width: 168px; margin:14px 0 0 0"> <a href="contents.php?cms=poverty">What is Poverty</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=effects">Effects of only treating &nbsp;symptons</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=aid">Aid Dependancy</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=solutions">Potential solutions</a></div>
<!--3rd drop down menu -->
<div id="dropmenu3" class="dropmenudiv" style="width: 168px; margin:14px 0 0 0"> <a href="contents.php?cms=education">Free Education & School Meal</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=fair_trade">Increase & More Fair TRADE </a> <a href="contents.php?cms=vote_for">You to vote for</a></div>

<!--4th drop down menu -->
<div id="dropmenu4" class="dropmenudiv" style="width:168px; margin:14px 0 0 0"> <a href="contents.php?cms=smallbiz">Small Business </a> <a href="contents.php?cms=social">Social Enterprise</a><a href="contents.php?cms=sponsor">Sponsor A Family</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=business">Business Directory</a><a href="contents.php?cms=save">SAVE</a></div>
<!--5th drop down menu -->
<div id="dropmenu5" class="dropmenudiv" style="width: 168px; margin:14px 0 0 0"> <a href="contents.php?cms=footballhiv">Football-HIV Programmes</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=tournaments">Tournaments</a> <a href="contents.php?cms=twining">Twinning</a></div>

<script type="text/javascript">

cssdropdown.startchrome("chromemenu")

</script>
</table></td>

loventruth
04-20-2010, 12:05 PM
thanks I tried that the menu and page contents ended up all over the place. Anyway thanks so much for trying to assist.

traq
04-20-2010, 04:52 PM
hmm... it worked fine when I tried it locally. There must be something else you use on the page (which I didn't have) that affects it.

Have you tried a clean copy of the chrome.js file? That should at least get the drop-down working. Then, positioning, etc., would just be a matter of css.