PDA

View Full Version : Sub menu won't show in IE



oliverian
04-14-2010, 04:52 PM
1) Script Title: All Levels Navigation Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm

3) Describe problem: Our menu used to work fine, but all of a sudden our school's submenu has stopped appearing. It is fine in other browsers, but not in IE. Any suggestions on how I can fix it? I am still a newbie to all of this, so any point in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

http://www.oliverianschool.org

Thanks!
oliverian

ddadmin
04-14-2010, 07:28 PM
The reason is because you've inserted rel="nofollow" inside the top menu links:


<div id="ddtopmenubar" class="mattblackmenu">
<ul>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu1">About Oliverian</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu6">Academics</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu7">Adventure</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/culture/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu8">Caring Culture</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu9">Service</a></noindex></li>

<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/summer/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu4">Summer</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/news/news.php" rel="ddsubmenu3">News</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/admissions.php" rel="ddsubmenu2">Admissions</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/contactus.php" rel="ddsubmenu5">Contact</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/giving/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu10">Giving</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/index.php">Home</a></noindex></li>
</ul>
</div>

<script type="text/javascript">
ddlevelsmenu.setup("ddtopmenubar", "topbar") //ddlevelsmenu.setup("mainmenuid", "topbar|sidebar")
</script>

You'll need to remove all those rel="nofollow" attributes, as they conflict with the other rel attribute also present in those links, ie: rel="ddsubmenu3"

oliverian
04-15-2010, 11:58 AM
Thanks for your reply. I see the "no follow" when I view source from the website, but do not see it anywhere in the scripts. Where do I need to change them?
oliverian

ddadmin
04-15-2010, 07:30 PM
Well the easiest approach is just to remove the rel="nofollow" attributes from your main menu markup. Are you saying you can't do that?

oliverian
04-15-2010, 08:16 PM
I don't know how to change markup on main menu cause I don't see it there. I have style sheets, don't see it there. It doesn't show up in chrome, just in IE when you view source. I think it has something to do with hover over menu, but can't figure out how to fix it.

ddadmin
04-15-2010, 10:59 PM
Please don't start a new thread for this question (I've gone ahead and deleted it).


I don't know how to change markup on main menu cause I don't see it there.

It's definitely there. :) Go to this portion of your webpage:


<div id="ddtopmenubar" class="mattblackmenu">
<ul>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu1">About</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu6">Academics</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu7">Adventure</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/culture/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu8">Caring Culture</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu9">Service</a></noindex></li>

<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/summer/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu4">Summer</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/news/news.php" rel="ddsubmenu3">News</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/admissions.php" rel="ddsubmenu2">Admissions</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/contactus.php" rel="ddsubmenu5">Contact</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/giving/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu10">Giving</a></noindex></li>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/index.php">Home</a></noindex></li>
</ul>
</div>

See the code in red above? You should remove them from your webpage, then reupload the webpage again.

oliverian
04-15-2010, 11:22 PM
well, I'm confused. cause it is not on the index page, or any of the sript files.

ddadmin
04-16-2010, 06:30 AM
I'm looking at the source of your frontpage, at: http://www.oliverianschool.org/

oliverian
04-16-2010, 01:31 PM
I don't have "noindex" or "nofollow" in my code. Internet Explorer puts the extra code there:

<div id="ddtopmenubar" class="mattblackmenu">
<ul>
<li><noindex><a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu1">About</a></noindex></li>
</ul>
</div>

but the same exact page reads differently in chrome or other browsers:

<div id="ddtopmenubar" class="mattblackmenu">
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.oliverianschool.org/about/index.php" rel="ddsubmenu1">About</a></li>

ddadmin
04-16-2010, 07:12 PM
Hmm that's strange- are you dynamically serving different HTML markup depending on the browser? In FF3.x, I do see the rel="noindex" attributes inserted inside the menu's markup, resulting in the script not working. In Chrome however, I don't see them, and the script runs as a result.

An easier fix is probably just to use a menu that doesn't rely on rel attributes at all. Try Smooth Navigational Menu (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm) instead.

oliverian
04-17-2010, 02:47 PM
Thanks, I might try that menu, but am a little scared as I've never installed a menu before. I think the error to my current menu is somewhere in this file: