PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow does n't seem to work on IE6 or IE7 for me



mannkumar
04-05-2010, 08:44 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: Slideshow when incorporated into my site, does n't appear to work in IE6 or IE7 (but works fine on IE8)

link to my test site below;-

http://lotus-architects.com/test/

jscheuer1
04-05-2010, 11:55 PM
Where you have (all 9 times):


descreveal: "ondemand",
})

Lose the comma (red).

In an unrelated matter, this (highlighted) appears to not belong:


<script type="text/javascript"><![endif]-->3.
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>

It's causing an error in IE 7 and 8, possibly even in non-IE browsers. But all it will stop are the google-analytics.

mannkumar
04-06-2010, 09:10 AM
many, many thanks - keep up the excellent work at at the Dynamic Drive!

mannkumar
04-06-2010, 02:23 PM
thanks again for resolving the issue on the home page, unfortunately even after removing the errant comma's on the second page (history page - see link below) the scripts dont appear on ie6 or ie7

http://lotus-architects.com/test/-history-.html

is there somewhere else where i may have erred ?

jscheuer1
04-06-2010, 02:53 PM
You missed one:


var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "fadeshow_paul",
dimensions: [120, 120],
imagearray: [
["paul_1.JPG", "", "", "Paul Brookes"],
["paul_2.JPG", "", "", "for Square Foot"],
["paul_3.JPG", "", "", "London"]
],
displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2200, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
fadeduration: 990,
descreveal: "ondemand",
})

By the way, my other suggestion about:


<script type="text/javascript"><![endif]-->3.
var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." : "http://www.");
document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost + "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
</script>

was incorrect. I fixed it here and in my previous post. Get rid of all of the highlighted in it including the 3. bit.

On yet another front, having:


var mygallery=

9 times is redundant. In this particular script it won't hurt anything, at least not the way you are using the script. But they should each be unique names (mygallery1, mygallery2, etc.). Or you can just remove them all (example):


new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "fadeshow_scie",
dimensions: [120, 120],
imagearray: [
["scie_1.JPG", "", "", "Associated A"],
["scie_2.jpg", "", "", "RO St Bernards"],
["scie_3.jpg", "", "", "Jewellery Quarter"]
],
displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2150, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
fadeduration: 910,
descreveal: "ondemand"
})

mannkumar
04-06-2010, 03:19 PM
Many thanks again (apolgoies for my stupid error - thought i'd got rid of them all!)

Aplogies if this question goes off thread but wondered if you were aware of any issues with incompatability of U-fade and Lytebox (am looking to create lightbox type pop-up for both images and text for later part of site....and lytebox seems the most efficient one i'd heard of ?)

jscheuer1
04-06-2010, 03:37 PM
None that I can see right off. However, there are jQuery based lightboxes. Here's one (there are others, Google - 'jquery lightbox'):

http://leandrovieira.com/projects/jquery/lightbox/

Since UFade requires jQuery and the code for that is already loaded anyway, using one of them might be more efficient for you. That is if you manage to only include jQuery once on the page.

Also Lytebox has a problem in IE 8, but there is said to be a fix for that:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?p=222298&highlight=lytebox#post222298

mannkumar
04-06-2010, 04:21 PM
many thanks for the advice John. i'm very new to css/html, and apart from the google analytics the U-fade is the first javascript that i've used. i don't really have much knowledge of jquery etc, i'd initially thought that a basic javascript lightbox clone would be more effficient.

the jqeury lightbox is one of the best looking ones out there but i'm not sure if it would do inline text as wel. my problem was that i using hover spans to bring up a CV type pop-up box on my 'History' page, but am know looking a smoother approach. Lytebox seemed to be my first choice, but i will be using the lightbox pop-up twice on that page and will likely to used 9 times on the subsequent page, so would that mean would n't gain much of an advantage to jquery type lightbox ?

jscheuer1
04-06-2010, 05:11 PM
If the jQuery lightbox you pick suits all your lightbox needs, the efficiency could potentially be significant. All of the major routines are already loaded with jQuery, which only has to be loaded once by the user. The same is true of the lightbox script. Just make sure you include the scripts from the same locations on each page. That way these scripts will be cached by the user. If using the google api of jQuery, chances are the user already has that cached.

But these are relatively minor points that you may only become concerned with in the future as you begin to more fully understand the concepts involved. If you are just learning the basics, do what's easiest for you. The efficiency of a program is a tricky thing to figure anyway. Longer code may be more efficient (run faster) but take longer to download. jQuery 1.4.2 is faster and will most likely be cached, best of both. But UFade uses 1.3.2, though you can just change that to 1.4.2 and it will be fine.

mannkumar
04-06-2010, 05:58 PM
http://colorpowered.com/colorbox/

many thanks for the advice, the one that i found which seems to look the best (and do everthing) is colorbox (do you know much about it and any compatibility issues with Ufade?)

it claims to only 9kb of script and its seems to use jquery 1.4, if so how can i upgrade the ufade to 1.4.2 as you suggest ?

jscheuer1
04-06-2010, 07:18 PM
The common mistake novices make is including more than one external tag to any given script. In cases like this, that's often more than one external tag to jQuery, sometimes even to multiple versions. Avoid multiple tags, and you should be all set.

On your page you should have just one reference to jQuery:


<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

Or you can download it and host your own copy, but using the Google hosted one will take advantage of users who already have it cached. After that you can put the external tags for UFade and colorbox. UFade needs no changes to work with jQuery 1.4.2.