PDA

View Full Version : Automatic Daily Price Reduction Script?

StephenGeorge
04-02-2010, 10:32 AM
I would like to display a price on my website that decreases by a set amount each day. I would assign values to ‘StartDate’, ‘StartPrice’ and ‘ReductionAmount’. For example, if StartDate=(2010,3,1), StartPrice=2000 and ReductionAmount=50.

Then, hopefully, (StartPrice – ((Date – StartDate) x ReductionAmount)) should give the following:

On April 1 2010, website showed “Price today is $2000”

On April 2 2010 website shows “Price today is $1950”

On April 3 2010 website will show “Price today is $1900”

etc ...

As I am an embarrassing novice, could you please help me with the script for this! Thank you very much.

vwphillips
04-02-2010, 01:24 PM
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">

<head>
<title></title>
<script type="text/javascript">
/*<![CDATA[*/

function Reduction(o){
var srt=o.StartDate.split(/\D/);
var days=Math.floor((new Date()-new Date(srt[0]*1,srt[1]-1,srt[2]*1,0,0,0,0))/1000/60/60/24);
var cal=o.StartPrice-days*o.ReductionAmount;
if (cal>0){
var obj=document.getElementById(o.ID);
obj[obj.nodeName=='INPUT'?'value':'innerHTML']='$'+cal;
}
}

/*]]>*/
</script>

</head>

<body>
<input id="t1" />
<br />
<span id="t2" ></span>

<script type="text/javascript">
/*<![CDATA[*/

Reduction({
ID:'t1',
StartDate:'2010/4/1',
StartPrice:2000,
ReductionAmount:50
});

Reduction({
ID:'t2',
StartDate:'2010-3-1',
StartPrice:1000,
ReductionAmount:10
});

/*]]>*/
</script>
</body>

</html>

djr33
04-02-2010, 08:30 PM
Be aware that Javascript is not secure.

It's best to use PHP or another serverside language (processed on the server, not on the user's computer like Javascript) when you are dealing with any "secure" information.

There are a few reasons for this: