PDA

View Full Version : static menu in Firefox



bitstomper
10-06-2005, 09:46 PM
Can anyone help me with this:

The Static Menu script does NOT work in Firefox, even though designer presumes it does. Does anyone have a solution? Menu appears on all browsers except does not remain in place in Safari, Opera and Firefox, but dissapears when scrolling.

Any help is appreciated.

jscheuer1
10-07-2005, 04:26 AM
The demo page works fine in FF and Opera here. It isn't rated for Safari but, might work in it if we can figure out why you are having problems with your implementation. I suspect that it may be your doctype. The demo page uses no doctype and doesn't specify pixel units for the menu's position, which would be required for almost any doctype. If you are using a doctype, take it off the page just to diagnose if it is the problem. Another idea that pops to mind is that if you are using a Mac only, not just for the Safari test, it may be OS specific. Most of these scripts are not tested on Macs. Try it without the doctype first.

bitstomper
10-07-2005, 12:06 PM
Thanks heaps.

That simple trick did it (doctype).

bitstomper
10-08-2005, 02:06 AM
Can you also give me a tip on how to create rollover images within the script.
I managed to insert images, but 'on mouseover' and 'on mouse out' function do not work with the document.write.

I am fairly new to this so please excuse any stupidity on my behalf.

Thanks