PDA

View Full Version : RSS Display box problem



Lyle
03-01-2010, 05:43 PM
1) Script Title:RSS Display Boxes

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex18/rssdisplaybox/index.htm

3) Describe problem: I've been using the display box script for quite a while now (couple years?) and in the last week it has developed a problem.

That being, no display.(of feed data)

It appears that one of the cache files is consistently coming up as being very small (407 instead of ~40K)

The file appears to store the current feed data, If I replace it with an old copy, the box will display old feed data.
After a bit it updates and shows new data, then, after no specified time, reverts to showing no data, with a size of 407 bites.

The page i'm using it on is http://www.michrocks.org

Any suggestions Greatly appreciated!

Lyle
03-01-2010, 08:44 PM
It looks like the Cache file may have a 65K byte limit.
I've altered the feed so it won't get so big and (so far) it seems to work.

Does anyone know if there are size restrictions on RSS feeds or on the
RSS Display Box software?

ddadmin
03-02-2010, 07:26 AM
The script's RSS parser is Simplepie (http://simplepie.org/), a rather old version of Simplepie to be exact. I'm not sure if it has a size limit on the created cache file. You may want to try emailing the authors of Simplepie or go through their support forum for clarification on this.