PDA

View Full Version : RESOLVED!!!! Script help: Top Navigational Menu III



boyerfarm
02-24-2010, 10:30 PM
1) Script Title: Top Navigational Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/topmen3/index.htm

3) Describe problem: The script works fine when I look at my webpage on Firefox and Safari. However, Internet Explorer 6 won't drop down the menu. The box changes color when the cursor hovers over it, but nothing drops down. Explorer says there is an error on the page. I ran my html through a validator, and that checked out ok. I also checked the sample menus in Internet Explorer, and they worked fine. Any suggestions of what to check? I'm fairly new to this. I re-downloaded and uploaded all of the files to the server, but no luck. Any suggestions? Thanks

the website is www.boyerfarm.com

taziq
02-24-2010, 11:12 PM
Your page is splitting the lines out when it's rendered
Double check that the following are all on the same line

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<script type="text/javascript"
src="../MainMenu/sniffer.js">


<script type="text/javascript"
src="../MainMenu/custom.js">

Something to try

boyerfarm
02-25-2010, 02:43 AM
Hey, no luck with the above. It still works in Firefox and Safari, but not IE6. An error message appears "Runtime Error, Line 2 Error: Invalid property code".
The files that came with the script have a 'menu_ie4', and 'menu_ie5', could there be something I am missing?

boyerfarm
02-26-2010, 09:31 PM
Fixed it!!! Kind of embarrassing though. I figured it was one of the values that I had changed in the custom file, so starting with the default demo menu, I changed a few variable at a time until it no longer worked. The reason: Internet Explorer does not recognize "grey" as a color. :o Lesson learned.