PDA

View Full Version : Using AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu v2.2 with image map area



Mitch00
01-29-2010, 06:00 PM
1) Script Title:
AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu v2.2
2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm
3) Describe problem: Is there a way to use AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu within an image map <area> tag like the way we can when using Flex Level Popup Menu (v1.0)? The AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu v2.2 has excellent menu behavior while the popupmenu has the map support that I am seeking. Thank you, Mitch

Nile
01-29-2010, 10:14 PM
Try: http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/popupmenu.htm

ddadmin
01-29-2010, 10:31 PM
It'll be much easier to modify Flex Menu, which already supports image maps, to behave more closely to Anylink menu, than the other way around. That's because in order to work with image maps, the menu needs to be positioned relative to the cursor and not the anchor object, which only the former script does. What kind of behavior were you looking for that's found in the later?

jwf
02-11-2010, 08:12 PM
Hi,

I had the same problem so I modified the script.
I've attached it to this post.

New option / attibute is: data-imagemap="25,0" for example any value makes it work so for default middle anchor position use "0,0"

See lines: 34 - 45 and 126 -129

miradoro
02-11-2010, 10:25 PM
hi

i tried ur modified script , but it didn't work for me

can u attach it w the image map?

thanks

miradoro
02-11-2010, 10:39 PM
did u try the modified script at

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?p=218600&posted=1#post218600


i really cant get it to work :(

miradoro
02-11-2010, 10:49 PM
Can the image map work with fixed positioning for submenu?

i mean...can the submenu appear right below or right next to image map

not just everywhere on the map?

jwf
02-12-2010, 01:12 PM
Hello All,

Here is a new version of my modified script:

See lines 145 - 156 and 34-61

I have included with this post a completely working example with:
image, js, html code

Now you can predefine the alignment to top, middle or bottom.

Just unzip and have fun ;)

jwf
02-12-2010, 01:17 PM
NOTE: the menu is related to the "coords" so draw your image map well.

miradoro
02-12-2010, 01:33 PM
wow nice! it worked but another question

what if the image you sent me is located in center of the page, i noticed the menu doesn't show up near the image map...sorry for being a pain in t ...

is there a way to fix this?

jwf
02-12-2010, 04:22 PM
I must have deleted it from the first version.

I've added back the offset() values which determine the position of the image on the page.

Try the script that I've attached to this reply.

I suggest that you read the jQuery Manual... your imagination will really spark up and you'll be able to solve many problems and thus contribute more with new ideas.

http://api.jquery.com/offset/

nandalr
02-23-2010, 01:32 AM
thanks a million, it works perfectly! :)

Caedmonball19
09-18-2011, 10:10 PM
I was reading through this forum trying to get my drop down menu to work properly but am running into multiple issues. First when I tried to add a lot of options (About 30) to the list instead of dropping down below the menu it shot upwards off the screen. So I need to figure out how to add columns to this drop down box.
Second I can't get the map to recognize my other drop down menus. I have attached the script I am using along with the image referenced. Any help would be appreciated.
I am also using the modified scripts from jwf.