PDA

View Full Version : Pop-it menu doesnt work in IE



ikon
09-27-2005, 09:55 PM
im using the Pop-It menu (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/popit.htm) for my website> www.ikonmusic.net (http://www.ikonmusic.net) , but the menu only shows up and works in my firefox browser, not in explorer...can anyone help me with this? maybe im missing something in the html..thanks

ikon
09-28-2005, 05:02 AM
any answers?

jscheuer1
09-28-2005, 09:46 AM
The demo here at DD works fine in both browsers. Your page is throwing errors in IE, looks like you have more than one script on the page. It could be an onload event conflict or a problem with two scripts using the same variable (or id, function, etc.) name. It throws an error in FF too, just one though, not enough to stop the script from working.

This is a stock response:

.

Aside from the tutorial above, which usually is the solution when the problem is two different scripts, you may need to consult:

http://www.howtocreate.co.uk/tutorials/index.php?tut=0&part=0&TOshow=allshow#refcon

Which explains how two scripts on the same page may not use the same set of variable names, id names, etc. This is especially important if the problem is two copies of the same script on a page but, can come into play with two different scripts when the first step won't fix it.

One other approach that works in both situations, if adaptable to one (or more) of the scripts, is to put one script in a borderless iframe. It will look like it is on the same page but, since it really is on a separate page, conflicts are no longer an issue.

Added Later:

Looks like if you were to remove this from the code, it should work in IE too:

if (ie5||ns6)
document.write('<div id="popitmenu" onMouseover="clearhidemenu();" onMouseout="dynamichide(event)"></div>')

ikon
09-28-2005, 05:50 PM
okay i took out that "if IE" line like you said, and it didnt do the trick...and yes, i have 3 scripts running on one page, i have the other two, which are working fine, inside the <body onload>, but the pop-it menu uses onclick, instead of onload, so i left that one by itself inside its script...and it works fine like that in firefox..

when i checked what the error message was in IE, it said this: "menuobj.style" is null or not an object

then i found that in my script, and heres what it looks like:
menuobj=ie5? document.all.popitmenu : document.getElementById("popitmenu")
menuobj.innerHTML=which
menuobj.style.width=(typeof optWidth!="undefined")? optWidth : defaultMenuWidth
menuobj.contentwidth=menuobj.offsetWidth
menuobj.contentheight=menuobj.offsetHeight

any idea?

ikon
09-29-2005, 02:55 PM
upppp

jscheuer1
09-29-2005, 03:17 PM
That's funny, all I had to do was remove the lines as suggested and it works fine here. Still has error(s) but, they are from the script for the scroller and are non-fatal.

ikon
09-29-2005, 06:29 PM
your right, it works now..thanks