PDA

View Full Version : blending slideshow aint sliding



stevfusion
09-25-2005, 08:48 PM
I'm trying to get that blending slideshow thing on my xanga site but it isn't really working... it shows the first image, but it doesn't slide... i know, it's xanga, not an official website, but if the first image can show up, why aren't the other ones comming up? I've got IE... even if I didn't it looks like it's supposed anyway... here's the code... tell what I messed up please...


Blending Slideshow
http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/image4.htm


<script language="JavaScript1.1">
<!--

//*****************************************
// Blending Image Slide Show Script-
// Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
// For full source code, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/
//*****************************************

//specify interval between slide (in mili seconds)
var slidespeed=3000

//specify images
var slideimages=new Array("http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Stevfusion/needcodes.jpg","http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Stevfusion/Needtolearn.jpg","http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Stevfusion/wantyousite.jpg","http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Stevfusion/thencometo.jpg")

//specify corresponding links
var slidelinks=new Array("http://www.tekcities.com/stevfusion/homepage.html","http://www.tekcities.com/stevfusion/homepage.html","http://www.tekcities.com/stevfusion/homepage.html","http://www.tekcities.com/stevfusion/homepage.html")

var newwindow=1 //open links in new window? 1=yes, 0=no

var imageholder=new Array()
var ie=document.documentElement.filters
for (i=0;i<slideimages.length;i++){
imageholder[i]=new Image()
imageholder[i].src=slideimages[i]
}

function gotoshow(){
if (newwindow)
window.open(slidelinks[whichlink])
else
window.location=slidelinks[whichlink]
}

//-->
</script>


<a href="javascript:gotoshow()"><img src="http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b294/Stevfusion/needcodes.jpg" name="slide" border=0 style="filter:blendTrans(duration=3)" width=668 height=78></a>

<script language="JavaScript1.1">
<!--

var whichlink=0
var whichimage=0
var blenddelay=(ie)? document.images.slide.filters[0].duration*1000 : 0
function slideit(){
if (!document.images) return
if (ie) document.images.slide.filters[0].apply()
document.images.slide.src=imageholder[whichimage].src
if (ie) document.images.slide.filters[0].play()
whichlink=whichimage
whichimage=(whichimage<slideimages.length-1)? whichimage+1 : 0
setTimeout("slideit()",slidespeed+blenddelay)
}
slideit()

//-->
</script>

<p align="center"><font face="arial" size="-2">This free script provided by<br>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com">Dynamic Drive</a></font></p>

Like I said, even though I'm using the xanga look and feel (which is supposed to be a simplified html editor) I'm still getting the first image, which means it should be able to slide...

jscheuer1
09-26-2005, 02:24 AM
This line has been incorrectly altered:

for (i=0;i<slideimages.length;//+){It should be:

for (i=0;i<slideimages.length;i++){That will fix it in IE and Mozilla but, there is an incorrect assumption about browsers that support document.all and not filter styles, like Opera and others. So, this should be changed as well:

var ie=document.allto:

var ie=document.documentElement.filters

stevfusion
09-26-2005, 07:57 PM
that didn't do it... i made the changes and I'll keep them, but it's still not sliding... I even put it in my web editor again, it's simply not sliding... niether is the fading slideshow... i tried that one out then I found this one... I'm putting the first part under the header, and the second under the body like it told me to... what am I doin wrong?