PDA

View Full Version : Flexi Slideshow help



icedancer
12-29-2009, 10:11 PM
1) Script Title: Flexi Slideshow

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/flexislide.htm

3) Describe problem: I have written the Flexi Slideshow script into the desired page. The photos display as desired, however the word "undefined" also appears under the photos. I do not want any captions under the photos. It has been a while since I have written Javascripts and I am not seeing how to remove the word. Thanks very much for any help.

jscheuer1
12-30-2009, 01:40 PM
In this section (yours probably looks different by now):


//variableslide[x]=["path to image", "OPTIONAL link for image", "OPTIONAL text description (supports HTML tags)"]

variableslide[0]=['ball.gif', '', '']
variableslide[1]=['spaceship.gif', 'http://www.space.com', 'Has aliens landed on earth? You decide.']
variableslide[2]=['cake.gif', '', '']

If there is no link, and/or no description for the slide, it still must have an empty value, as opposed to what you probably have done, which is removed even the empty single quotes (highlighted in the above). In other words, Do Not Remove These. They are placeholders and are required to avoid that 'undefined' you are seeing.

icedancer
12-30-2009, 09:03 PM
Thanks very much. When I first inserted the paths to the images, the photos did not show, so I thought it had something to do with those extra quote marks. The page works fine, now. Like I said, it's been quite awhile since I have "played with" scripts and my memory is very short with programming. The only other concern is when I preview the page in Internet Explorer, I am "warned" about allowing "blocked content." Am I correct in assuming that that has something to do with MY computer and security firewalls, etc. or will that occur when other people view it as well?

jscheuer1
12-31-2009, 03:25 AM
You are basically correct. That warning is for any javascript run locally in a tab or window of IE that hasn't previously had local javascript approved. Once the page is live, even your computer will not give that warning.

Don't feel too bad about the other issue (about missing the empty '' thingers). If the script had been better written, that wouldn't have made any difference.

fabianlujan
03-30-2010, 03:37 PM
perhaps somebody knows how to add white space behind the text description, because it collides with another image (static) I have.
tried to add the text into a paragraph, break line, and nothing.
just need 1 empty text line and it works!

thanks

fabianlujan
03-30-2010, 03:41 PM
perhaps somebody knows how to add white space behind the text description, because it collides with another image (static) I have.
tried to add the text into a paragraph, break line, and nothing.
just need 1 empty text line and it works!

thanks

i just solve it!

I was using 400x300 px images as biggest possible size.
then, I added some px in the height, so the container will allow more space and voila!
it works!

thanks! hope this helps somebody

fabianlujan
03-30-2010, 03:46 PM
a new question....

Is it possible to add a css class to the image?

my class name is "imagenTIT" and, since the path to image is contained within '' I'm not sure how to add the instruction to get the "imagenTIT" class.


variableslide[0]=['http://www.domain.com/folder1/folder2/image.jpg', '', '<span class="smalltext">description</span>'] (ORIGINAL)

Thanks!

jscheuer1
03-30-2010, 04:13 PM
Find this line in the script and add the highlighted:


contentcontainer+='<img class="imagenTIT" src="'+variableslide[currentslide][0]+'" border="0" vspace="3">'

fabianlujan
03-30-2010, 05:42 PM
Find this line in the script and add the highlighted:


contentcontainer+='<img class="imagenTIT" src="'+variableslide[currentslide][0]+'" border="0" vspace="3">'

Perfect John!
Thanks!

I was looking that line but wasn't and didn't tried.

Thanks again!