PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Slideshow Problem!



reverbdesign
12-03-2009, 05:48 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Slideshow 2.0

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: I installed this script for the website im making.. it looks great on my mac with Firefox and Safari , on PC it looks great on Firefox and IE 8 .. but in IE 7 my slideshow is not showing AT ALL .. ( i guess IE 6 will not work either..) i get the error : "fadeslideshow is undefined" it really gets on my nerve... ill post the code here and ill will link you the website.

www.lemergence.qc.ca/infographie


Here is the HEAD.
(The v3slideshow.js is another script that i tried to use..dont bother with it)


<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
<title>Soirée Portfolio 09</title>
<link href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
<script src="Scripts/AC_RunActiveContent.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script src="SpryAssets/SpryEffects.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function MM_swapImgRestore() { //v3.0
var i,x,a=document.MM_sr; for(i=0;a&&i<a.length&&(x=a[i])&&x.oSrc;i++) x.src=x.oSrc;
}
function MM_preloadImages() { //v3.0
var d=document; if(d.images){ if(!d.MM_p) d.MM_p=new Array();
var i,j=d.MM_p.length,a=MM_preloadImages.arguments; for(i=0; i<a.length; i++)
if (a[i].indexOf("#")!=0){ d.MM_p[j]=new Image; d.MM_p[j++].src=a[i];}}
}

function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[i][n];
for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers[i].document);
if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
}

function MM_swapImage() { //v3.0
var i,j=0,x,a=MM_swapImage.arguments; document.MM_sr=new Array; for(i=0;i<(a.length-2);i+=3)
if ((x=MM_findObj(a[i]))!=null){document.MM_sr[j++]=x; if(!x.oSrc) x.oSrc=x.src; x.src=a[i+2];}
}
function MM_effectShake(targetElement)
{
Spry.Effect.DoShake(targetElement);
}
function MM_effectAppearFade(targetElement, duration, from, to, toggle)
{
Spry.Effect.DoFade(targetElement, {duration: duration, from: from, to: to, toggle: toggle});
}
//-->
</script>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
.Style2 {
font-style: italic;
color: #860000;
font-weight: normal;
font-family: Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-size: 15px;
}
-->
</style>
<script type="text/javascript" src="v3flashslideshow/slideshow.js"></script>

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

<script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">

/***********************************************
* Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
***********************************************/

</script>

<script type="text/javascript">

var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
wrapperid: "animation", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
dimensions: [185, 450], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
imagearray: [
["images/slideshowimages/image3.jpg"],
["images/slideshowimages/image1.jpg"],
["images/slideshowimages/image2.jpg"] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
],
displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
fadeduration: 3000, //transition duration (milliseconds)
descreveal: "ondemand",
togglerid: ""
})




</script>
</head>


I hope someone can help me... i really want it to work =(

jscheuer1
12-03-2009, 07:08 PM
I think you must have modified the main script (fadeslideshow.js) because it works fine in IE 7 on the demo page here on Dynamic Drive. In any case, I see this line in your copy is technically invalid:


.css({position:'absolute', left:0, top:0, width:'100%', height:'100%', })

It should be:


.css({position:'absolute', left:0, top:0, width:'100%', height:'100%'})

Making the change here fixed it.

reverbdesign
12-03-2009, 09:15 PM
Wow thanks a lot, you saved my life... it was kinda ridiculous to know exactly that it was that comma.. lol but is there any program that i can copy paste a code and it will find all the errors and correct it ??

jscheuer1
12-04-2009, 12:51 AM
IE 7 itself (plus my knowledge of IE 7's odd methods of reporting errors) put me on to that line. Once I looked at it the error was obvious to my experienced eye.

As far as I know, there is no one program to do that kind of investigative work. Each browser has its own was of helping you diagnose problems, some are add ons, others come with the browser. Each is specific to that browser because in part each browser has its own peculiarities as far as what it might consider to be a fatal error or not, and in part because these various diagnostic programs, be they add ons or included with the browser, have their own ways of dealing with detecting and reporting errors. Generally the more recent versions of any given browser have better options and/or built in utilities for this sort of thing.