PDA

View Full Version : jQuery Image Magnify



Banyarola
12-02-2009, 06:19 PM
1) Script Title: jQuery Image Magnify

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...agemagnify.htm

3) Describe problem:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...agemagnify.htm


Hi, I have this script working just fine except for one problem.
I can't get the cursor to change no mater what I do.

Can someone explain to me how I can get it working properly.?

Thanks

Bany

ddadmin
12-02-2009, 11:44 PM
Are you having trouble getting the "magnify" cursor that comes with the script to show? What browser are you using, and did you remember to upload the cursor to the directory where your page resides?

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 12:00 AM
Yes, the cursor with the script is not showing.
I'm using IE8.
Yes, The cursor is in the directory.

Like I said, everything works fine except for the cursor.
I have played around with it for a day before I asked for help and I think I covered everything but obviously not.

Thanks for the help.

ddadmin
12-03-2009, 07:51 AM
Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 08:59 AM
http://www.domdedomdom.com/Clock_Duplicate_for_expando.html

Thanks, I appreciate it.

ddadmin
12-03-2009, 09:56 PM
Most likely there is an issue with the path to your .cur image. Inside the .js file, change the following line so the path to the image is absolute:


cursorcss: 'url(http://mysite.com/magnify.cur), -moz-zoom-in', //Value for CSS's 'cursor' attribute, added to original image

Replace the part in red to the full domain/ URL to magnify.cur on your server.

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 10:18 PM
Thanks, I'll give it a try and get back to you

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 10:39 PM
Nope, that didn't work.

ddadmin
12-03-2009, 10:45 PM
I don't see the changes inside your .js file- is the URL the same?

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 10:49 PM
After I tried it I removed the line you gave me.

Would you like me to put it back in and leave it there for you?

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 10:54 PM
I put it back in.

Thanks

ddadmin
12-03-2009, 11:05 PM
Ok now I see it. There's a typo in your image path:


htpp://domdedomdom.com/magnify.cur

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 11:28 PM
I don't understand.
It looks exactly like what I have in there.

Am I missing something?

Oh, I just found it.

I'll change it and see what happens.

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 11:39 PM
I corrected it and it still doesn't work.

ddadmin
12-03-2009, 11:49 PM
But did you check whether the URL itself correctly points to where the .cur image is on your server? To be it appears to be broken if I call it in my browser:


http://domdedomdom.com/magnify.cur

Banyarola
12-03-2009, 11:56 PM
I'll check tomorrow.

I'm assuming the path has to lead directly to folder on my server where the .cur image is.
Is that what you mean?

ddadmin
12-04-2009, 12:00 AM
Yes. It's just like linking to an image.

Banyarola
12-04-2009, 11:19 AM
Hi,
I can do that but does that mean that for every page I use the script in I then have to edit the code to point to the page where the script is being used?

Thanks, you have been a great help so far with this.