PDA

View Full Version : Accordion Menu - Screen flickers



flipflop127
11-27-2009, 09:34 PM
1) Script Title: Accordion Content Script (v1.7.1)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ddaccordionmenu-arrow.htm

3) Describe problem: The menu seemed to be working fine. Today I noticed that when I clicked on one of the menu headers it would open and display the submenu's but before going to the new page the screen seems to flicker. It almost looks like a white jagged line quickly flashed on the screen before the page loads. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I only notice this in IE, not Firefox. Any help would be appreciated.

http://development.bfaeng.com

ddadmin
11-28-2009, 07:37 AM
Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

flipflop127
11-29-2009, 01:59 AM
Here is a link to the site where you can see the problem:

http://development.bfaeng.com

Thank you.

ddadmin
11-29-2009, 03:06 AM
The flash could be due to the new page loading plus the almost instant revealing of a specific header due to your use of the URL parameter feature in each header's URL:


<div class="menuheaders"><a href="civil_design.htm?menuheaders=0" title="CSS">Civil Design</a></div>

This is just my theory, as in general the browser simply shouldn't be "flashing" when it renders a page. The issue could be a combination of your specific page's layout, coupled with IE's renderng engine.

What happens if you remove the URL parameter from the URL in your headers (ie: ?menuheaders=0)?

flipflop127
11-29-2009, 04:57 AM
I removed the code that you suggested, but I still have the same problem. I don't understand because is was working fine. If you have any other suggestions I would really appreciate it.

ddadmin
11-29-2009, 05:08 AM
By working fine, you mean there was no flash in IE until at some point?

flipflop127
11-29-2009, 02:12 PM
That is correct. There was no flashing on the screen. Everything was fine until last week. It still works fine in Firefox (no flashing). I even restored my files to the previous week thinking that I had inadvertently changed some code, but it still has that crazy flash in IE.

ddadmin
12-01-2009, 04:59 AM
Did you manage to fix the issue? I just tested your site in IE8, and the "flash" no longer seems to be present.

flipflop127
12-02-2009, 02:55 AM
No, I still have not been able to fix the problem. I did remove the background image. The flash is still there. Thank you.

ddadmin
12-02-2009, 09:38 PM
For me the problem no longer exists strangely. I'm on IE8 Win 7 btw. Regardless though, the issue most likely is due to some design element on your page- you might want to try systematically removing parts of the page and changing the page's CSS until you isolate the culprit.