PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.1) and Lightbox conflict



nzguy1
11-17-2009, 04:23 AM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.1)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem:

I have searched the forum and have found a number of posts about this problem whereby if you use Lightbox on a page, it stops images from loading into the slideshow - but no solution.

I have isolated the problem as a conflict between the fadeinslideshow.js and the prototype.js scripts (if you leave the scriptaculous.js?load=effects and lightbox.js links in the head then the slides load OK but, of course, Lightbox does not work).

It appears that fadeinslideshow.js includes a prototype variable as does prototype.js.

Has anybody been able to resolve this conflict? At the moment I am having to stay with v1.6 of the Fade-in Slideshow script where there is no conflict with Lightbox.

nzguy1
11-17-2009, 04:49 AM
PS

I also read in a post on this forum that the conflict could be avoided by using LightWindow instead of Lightbox. However, as that Stickman Labs script also used prototype.js, I can't see how this can be. The conflict was certainly there when I tried to use it instead.

jscheuer1
11-17-2009, 02:59 PM
Yes, both Lightbox 2+ and Lightwindow use the prototype script library, and Ultimate Fade 2+ uses the jQuery script library. These two libraries will conflict if nothing is done to prevent that.

Depending upon what you want to do, what features you feel you need, the best solution may be to find two scripts - one for a slide show, and another for the lightbox sort of effect, that both use the same script library.

However, a demo of Ultimate Fade and Lightwindow working together is here (click on first image in second slide show):

http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/ufade21_lw2/

Instructions on how to set up your own demo are here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/blog.php?b=37

nzguy1
01-13-2010, 11:16 PM
Thanks jscheuer1 for your post and I'm sorry that I have only just got around to posting a followup.

Should your solution also work for Lightbox or only for Lightwindow? So far, I haven't been able to find a lightbox-type script that uses the jQuery script library.

I probably did not explain my problem clearly - I am not trying to have both Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow and Lightbox scripts applied to the same image.

I actually use Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow v2.1 to rotate the banner image on all of the pages of a website and need to add a separate Lightbox (or Lightwindow) photo gallery to one of the pages. At the moment, if I do that, the Lightbox photo gallery works fine but the Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow banner images do not display. I have therefore reverted to using v.1 of Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow where the scripts coexist fine, but I would much rather use v.2!

nzguy1
01-14-2010, 04:10 AM
Well, jscheuer1, I have been playing around with this some more and downloaded your http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/ufade21_lw2/ page and associated scripts and found that the version of prototype.js that you are using is almost twice the size of the one that I had downloaded as part of Lightbox. Substituting your prototype.js for the old one and placing the script in a sub-folder has completely solved my problem. Now both scripts work together fine on the page.

Many thanks for your help.

nightzombie
11-05-2010, 07:17 AM
There is a solution to using lightbox and fadeshow i had this issue about 3 days ago. All i did was searched for lightbox, found the creators website and got the newer version of lightbox. now i have another problem since i got it working. The fadeshow images overlap onto the lightbox images when they open in their own window, but this problem is not encountered using the IE 8 .. I just need it to work on all browsers so i have to get it right. In looking for a solution to my next problem i found your guys problems and felt i had to mention it.

jscheuer1
11-05-2010, 07:30 AM
Boost all z-index values in the lightbox.css file by a factor of 1000.

nightzombie
11-05-2010, 07:43 AM
John man thanks that is so awsome for two reasons.. A a speedy response, B it worked 100% .. thanks so much :)

quantas
09-06-2011, 12:09 PM
Hi,
Here with lightbox the images are not rotating by default. Can you please let me know how to do it?

jscheuer1
09-06-2011, 02:22 PM
Please start a new thread for a new question.

See also:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/blog.php?b=247