PDA

View Full Version : Cool Page & Javascript general inquiry

juliecarlson
11-05-2009, 04:05 PM
I just started using a web wysiwyg program called Cool Pages in addition to Dreamwaever. Cool Pages is a drag and drop style designer & coder. Any html or java components must be added as text within an "object" and placed on the page as a layer behind other elements (tranparent gif, etc).

One one page there is a dynamic drive script for an image gallery in place that functions beautifully, but was loading slowly. As an experiment a separate script for image preloading was added to an object that was placed at the top of the page (they would identify it as the head). It worked, the images load faster.

I am new to javascript and am just stumped. Why does the image preload script work? It is not tied in any way to the existing image gallery script. The image gallery script still calls the images from the same file source location - not referencing the preloaded images at all. It's great that it works, but I don't understand...

Here's the url: http://www.urbanpanda.com/test_code_preload_2.html

I am hoping that someone might have a minute to clarify why this might work. Much gratitude!!♥ :confused:

jscheuer1
11-05-2009, 04:35 PM
It doesn't seem particularly fast to me, though I didn't see the 'before' example. But the issue with images is, are they cached? Preloading takes just as long as loading (they're both limited by the bandwidth), and if you are doing both on the same page, may actually take a little longer. Once the images are cached though (which happens after you view the page once), both preloading and loading are almost instantaneous (limited only by the speed of the HD).