PDA

View Full Version : JavaScipt Links

Wizard13335
09-15-2005, 06:31 AM
Hi everyone. I know how to create javascript links for a popup window (<a href="#" onclick="window.open ('nameofpage')), but how would you create a normal link that opens in the same page using javascript, or is it not possible?

Twey
09-15-2005, 08:50 AM
You can do it: <a href="page.htm" onclick="window.location.href = this.href;">
But... why?
P.S. If you have a Javascript link, always put "return false;" on the end, and instead of using # or javascript:void(0), set the href to the page so non-JS browsers can get the page as well.

Wizard13335
09-21-2005, 09:28 PM
The reason i needed to do that is because i needed to set an onclick option for something, and i didnt want to make a new window. So, what part of that example code would need to be edited for use? (im a javascript newb) Also, how would you create a link to refresh a page? Thanks alot for your help! :)

Twey
09-22-2005, 06:45 AM
To add an onclick, you'd edit the onclick attribute (onclick="code"). To refresh the page, use:
<a href="thispage.htm" onclick="window.location.href = window.location.href;">

Wizard13335
09-23-2005, 01:16 AM
No, what part of the earlier code, the normal js link (window.location.href = this.href) should be edited to suit my page? Where would the location of the page go, ect.

jscheuer1
09-23-2005, 02:26 AM
Sometimes the easiest way to kill a fly is with a sledgehammer, put this script in the head of the page:

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function doit(){
if (window.location.reload)
window.location.reload( true );
else if (window.location.replace)
window.location.replace(unescape(location.href))
else
window.location.href=unescape(location.href)
}
//-->
</script>Then all you need to do to reload the page is call:

doit()

This can be done in another script or wherever you like. To use it in a link on the page, do this: