PDA

View Full Version : Need help with the cross browse marquee 2

cherylhandy
10-21-2009, 10:09 AM
1) Script Title: cross browse marquee 2

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/cmarquee2_dev.htm

3) Describe problem: I am trying to understand this all as I am a real beginner currently I am stuck trying to figure out how to make the background clear or translucent (see through). I am also trying to understand the padding as in what and where it is or where it would be. Also when using this code do I copy and paste everything? Lastly towards the bottom of the code where I would put the content I want to scroll I notice the following:
"[<!--YOUR SCROLL CONTENT HERE-->

<h4>Your scroller contents</h4>

<!--YOUR SCROLL CONTENT HERE-->]"

and now I am very confused as to if I am suppose to break the information up or why there is 2 places for your scroller content? Need all the help I can get with this as I said I am so brand new to this. As of now I understand this much of the code with exception to the padding and making the background clear or translucent:

[<html>

<head>
<style type="text/css">

#marqueecontainer{
position: relative;
width: 200px; /*marquee width */
height: 200px; /*marquee height */
background-color: white;
overflow: hidden;
border: 3px solid orange;
padding: 2px;
padding-left: 4px;
}

</style>

<script type="text/javascript">]

but I am completely lost on the rest of it. :confused:

jscheuer1
10-21-2009, 01:35 PM
This part on the page you linked to:

<!--YOUR SCROLL CONTENT HERE-->

<!--YOUR SCROLL CONTENT HERE-->

should really be:

<!-- BEGIN YOUR SCROLL CONTENT HERE -->

<!-- END YOUR SCROLL CONTENT HERE -->

Then it would be clearer what to do for that part.

To get a transparent background:

#marqueecontainer{
position: relative;
width: 200px; /*marquee width */
height: 200px; /*marquee height */
background-color: transparent;
overflow: hidden;
border: 3px solid orange;
padding: 2px;
padding-left: 4px;
}