PDA

View Full Version : any link dropdown menu select box in IE issue



kalisurfer
09-12-2005, 06:29 PM
Does anyone have a fix for the hovering bug in IE. That is if an dhtml layer goes over a select box, the select box will be on top of your menu.

I need a JS fix if possible. I know the answer lies with creating an iframe.

Want to know if anyone has a working fix for any link ddrop down menus (vertical)

thanks much :mad:

jscheuer1
09-12-2005, 06:48 PM
I'm not sure how an iframe would help. The two proven methods that I am aware of are:

1) Move the select box away from the menu (preferred).

2) Set the visibility of the select box to hidden temporarily, while the menu drops down and restore it to visible after the drop down disappears.

If you need help on #2, see this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3194).

kalisurfer
09-12-2005, 08:20 PM
say for example you anylink divs are of a z-index of 9, if you create an iframe via js and set the src to nothing, it will create a white iframe.

You can then position the iframe behind your anylink menu and presto, it will cover the select box.

I got it to work so if anyone is interested in getting my code hauler...

jscheuer1
09-12-2005, 09:50 PM
Sure, give us a link to the live page so we can have a look, sounds interesting.