PDA

View Full Version : ddaccordion.js location?



fonitsua
10-09-2009, 07:55 AM
1) Script Title: glossy accordion menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ddaccordionmenu-glossy.htm

3) Describe problem:

1. Joomla 1.5 on siteground.com server.
2. I want to use DD glossy accordion menu.

- i copied the script from the dd website (cut and paste, as is)
- made a Custom HTML module, selected left column location
- copied ddaccordion.js file in Joomla root directory.
- DD menu comes out ok.
- but accordion does not open (on "CSS Examles");
- non-accordion menu item works.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,

Ben

URL: www.orthoqd.com/3HUSA

ddadmin
10-09-2009, 11:15 PM
It's hard to tell the exact cause, though from the look of it the problem is due to a script conflict with another script on the same page. To confirm this, what happens if you disable/remove the other scripts on the page leaving just Accordion Menu on it?

gkiller
10-19-2009, 04:39 PM
I have the same problem after downloading the source code for this menu. When I click on each link it expands the same drop-down, even though I have more than 1 submenu defined.

I have another jQuery menu script runs on my site. Specifically, I have jQuery 1.3.2 and the hoverIntent and easing1.3 plug-ins running in tandem.

Even when I comment out the plug-ins, I experience the same problem that @fonitsua is having.

My doctype is valid. The only error detected is a misspelled 'colorz' attribute in the CSS. However, that is minor and doesn't contribute to the problem.

The only difference I made was renaming the class names in the CSS to fit into our template. However, I just copied the original code, tested it and still experience the same behavior.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

BTW, are they are any limitations to running various jQuery scripts on a given page? We use a drop-down for primary navigation, your script for secondary navigation and possibly some widgets (ex. tabs, sliders, etc.) within the content.

Thanks again

ddadmin
10-20-2009, 12:18 AM
jQuery 1.3.2 in itself shouldn't be the culprit, as that's the version used in the demos by default as well. Now, you say the script does expand a single sub menu for all of the headers. This seems to suggest the script is at least working, with the issue pointing to the way you've set it up. Check that the "contentclass" in your initialization code:


ddaccordion.init({
headerclass: "submenuheader", //Shared CSS class name of headers group
contentclass: "submenu", //Shared CSS class name of contents group

matches the class given to each of your sub menu contents, and that there is one sub menu defined for each header:


<div class="glossymenu">
<a class="menuitem" href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/">Dynamic Drive</a>
<a class="menuitem submenuheader" href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/" >CSS Examples</a>
<div class="submenu">
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/category/C1/">Horizontal CSS Menus</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/category/C2/">Vertical CSS Menus</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/category/C4/">Image CSS</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/category/C6/">Form CSS</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/category/C5/">DIVs and containers</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/category/C7/">Links & Buttons</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/category/C8/">Other</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/all/">Browse All</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
<a class="menuitem" href="http://www.javascriptkit.com/jsref/">JavaScript Reference</a>
<a class="menuitem" href="http://www.javascriptkit.com/domref/">DOM Reference</a>
<a class="menuitem submenuheader" href="http://www.cssdrive.com">CSS Drive</a>
<div class="submenu">
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com">CSS Gallery</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/menudesigns/">Menu Gallery</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/news/">Web Design News</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/examples/">CSS Examples</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/main/csscompressor/">CSS Compressor</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6">CSS Forums</a></li>
</ul>
<img src="http://i27.tinypic.com/sy7295.gif" style="margin: 10px 5px" />
</div>
<a class="menuitem" href="http://www.codingforums.com/" style="border-bottom-width: 0">Coding Forums</a>
</div>

francinehds
10-20-2009, 02:18 AM
I'm having the same problem as the initial poster. All my menus are open and do not collapse, and there are no other scripts running, other than my basic css site script with masthead and footer, and that stuff. Nothing that would cause any conflictions.

The mouseovers to change between light and dark colours works perfectly, but I also don't get the plus/minus signs on the menu either. I've checked the location of the picture files, and made sure they coincided with the script (put them in images, and linked them to images, same as the different colours of the menu item background images.

I didn't change anything in the DDaccordian.js script at all, just copied and pasted directly from the site. With the css script, I only changed the "click" to "mouseover".

I think the problem I'm having is with the "href="target.htm?submenuheader=0" part. I don't understand where this is supposed to go.

For example, in the following scenerio:

<a class="menuitem submenuheader" href="2008.html" >2008</a>
<div class="submenu">
<ul>
<li><a href="January08.html">January</a></li>
<li><a href="February08.html">February</a></li>
<li><a href="March08.html">March</a></li>
</ul>
</div>

would I put something after "2008.html" in order to "activate" the submenu?

Or is it this line, in the ddaccordian css script (in the HTML you copy and paste)?

ddaccordion.init({
<stuff deleted for simplicity's sake>
toggleclass: ["", ""], //Two CSS classes to be applied to the header when it's collapsed and expanded, respectively ["class1", "class2"]

Is it blank for a reason, where we are suppose to input our choice? And if so, what would we put in there to make it work?

Sorry if I'm confusing anyone. I'm trying to learn, and pick out things that I think might be the issue, though sometimes it might seem like I'm grasping at straws! :D

Thanks for any help,
Francine

(BTW, my site is not live yet, which is why I haven't just posted a link to it.)

francinehds
10-20-2009, 03:55 AM
BTW, in the "href="target.htm?submenuheader=0"" I was referring to the information on this page: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ddaccordion_suppliment.htm