PDA

View Full Version : target url

maskull
09-25-2009, 01:20 AM
I'm new to Javascript and need some help. I have many pages with lots of links on them. I want to be able to change the destination url in Javascript after a link is clicked. Where is that information stored? The window.location object only stores information about the current window. Is there a property or method in the browser object that stores the target url? In other words, I have a link whose href is something like "www.somewhere.com". When I click that link, I want to trap it in onunload and add to it or change it as needed. How do I do that?

maskull
09-25-2009, 10:28 AM
Look, I'm not trying to bypass any kind of security or do something strange and funny to the browser or whatever. All I want to do is add to the querystring before it loads the target page. My pages allows users to select their own background image and I want to preserve that during the session and pass it to other pages. Doesn't anyone have any suggestions how I do that? I can't simply add it to each link's href since I don't know beforehand what image they will choose nor do I know which link they will click. I just thought the target url is kept somewhere and I can just add it to that (like www.somepage.com?bg_image). Please, any suggestions?

maskull
09-25-2009, 01:27 PM
I tried this and it worked. I just iterated through all the links on the page when a background image is selected and added ?imagename to the end of each href and that worked. When a page is loaded I retrieve it (with window.location.search.slice(1)||defaultimage) and then load the image in the background as normal. Thanks anyway...

jscheuer1
09-26-2009, 02:22 AM