PDA

View Full Version : Smooth Navigational Menu problem



Mic
09-21-2009, 06:34 PM
1) Script Title: "Smooth Navigational Menu"

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

My problem with the menu is that if you use it a bit fast the box that drops down showing the sub items dissapears, or bounce down and up a few times while you are trying to select a sub item.
Its like the whole menu just isn't fast enough to keep up with tracking the mouse unless you move the mouse around really slow.
Tried it in IE7 and IE8 on windows Vista and Windows 7, similar results on both.

Any way to fix this as its a really cool menu otherwise?

ddadmin
09-22-2009, 06:06 AM
What happens if you try decreasing the animation duration inside the .js file, ie:


transition: {overtime:100, outtime:100}, //duration of slide in/ out animation, in milliseconds

Mic
09-22-2009, 12:15 PM
its the same

it mainly happens if you move the mouse down over the subitems to soon after it has been displayed. like if the check for "is the mouse is over a menu item" fails then.

midwest68
09-28-2009, 07:41 PM
I am having the same problem. Only occurs in IE not firefox.

Mike

jesse94
09-28-2009, 09:07 PM
I have the same problem. Does it look like this?

http://www.alphazero.net/dmz/apcpnhq/membres.cfm

ildamiza
10-08-2009, 04:38 PM
I am having the same problem too. It works in Firefox but not IE. I am using IE7.

I tried decreasing the animation duration time like suggested, but it is still the same.

Please let me know if there is a way to fix this.

Also, our site is https and I get this message when the page is loading with the menu.

This page contains both secure and nonsecure items. Do you want to display the nonsecure items?

Is this because of this link in the page? http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.2.6/jquery.min.js

What is the best way to not show the popup message?


Thanks

hiredGun
02-17-2012, 12:52 AM
Was this issue ever resolved? I am experiencing the same thing. :( If not, is there another menu library you can recommend. :confused: I put this in for a friend's website and they are upset it's not working. I need to know if this is resolved or if I should rip it out. Any help/recommendations would be appreciated greatly. :D

jscheuer1
02-17-2012, 02:29 AM
our site is https and I get this message when the page is loading with the menu.

This page contains both secure and nonsecure items. Do you want to display the nonsecure items?

Is this because of this link in the page? http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.2.6/jquery.min.js

What is the best way to not show the popup message?

Yes it is from the non-secure external script link. Just change:


<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

to:


<script type="text/javascript" src="https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>