PDA

View Full Version : Pausing RSS scroller - does not show RSS feeds



ruthyruth
09-20-2009, 09:15 AM
1) Script Title: Pausing RSS scroller

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsspausescroller/index.htm

3) Describe problem: The RSS feed window appears on the page it is installed upon, and the text "Initializing RSS scroller..." appears briefly, then goes away, but the feed box remains empty.

My server is running PHP 4.4.8
I checked the CHMOD of the Cache folder, it is 777

This is the call on the BODY of the web page:

<script type="text/javascript">

//new rsspausescroller(RSS_id, divId, divClass, delay, linktarget, optionalswitch)
//1) RSS_id: "Array key of RSS feed in scrollerbridge.php script"
//2) divId: "ID of DIV to display ticker in. DIV is dynamically created"
//3) divClass: "Class name of this ticker, for styling purposes"
//4) delay: delay between message change, in milliseconds
//5) linktarget: Target of links inside RSS feed. Set to "" for current page.
//6) optionalswitch: "optional arbitrary" string to create additional logic for formatrssmessage() to use.
// By default, optionalswitch supports "date", or "date+description" to also show these parts of a RSS feed.

new rsspausescroller("bbc", "pscroller1", "rssclass", 3000, "_new")
</script>

This is what I've put in the HEAD of the page:

<style type="text/css">

/*Example CSS for the two demo scrollers*/

#pscroller1{
width: 450px;
height: 1.2em;
border: 1px solid black;
padding: 5px;
background-color: #FFFFFF;
}

.rssclass .rsstitle{
font-weight: bold;
}

.rssclass .rssdate{
color: gray;
font-size: 85%;
}

.rssclass a{
color: black;
text-decoration: none;
}

</style>

<script type="text/javascript" src="/assets/rsspausescroller.js">

/***********************************************
* RSS Pausing Scroller- Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsspausescroller/ for source code and documentation
***********************************************/

</script>


This is the only thing I changed in the rsspausescroller.js file - relative path:

var bridgepath="/assets/lastrss/scrollerbridge.php"

In the scrollerbridge.php file I changed the cache_time variable and added two new feed sources to the rsslist array variable:

include "lastRSS.php"; //path to lastRSS.php on your server relative to scrollerbridge.php

// Create lastRSS object
$rss = new lastRSS;
$rss->cache_dir = 'cache'; //path to cache directory on your server relative to scrollerbridge.php. Chmod 777!
$rss->date_format = 'M d, Y g:i:s A'; //date format of RSS item. See PHP date() function for possible input.
$rss->cache_time = 0; //Global cache time before fetching RSS feed again, in seconds.

// Define your list of RSS URLs- "RSS_id"=> "URL to RSS feed"
$rsslist=array(
"rollingstone" => "http://www.rollingstone.com/rockdaily/index.php/feed",
"classicrock" => "http://www.classicrockmagazine.com/feed",
"bbc" => "http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline_uk_edition/front_page/rss.xml",
"news.com" => "http://news.com.com/2547-1_3-0-5.xml",
"slashdot" => "http://rss.slashdot.org/Slashdot/slashdot",
"dynamicdrive" => "http://www.dynamicdrive.com/export.php?type=new",
);

//Domains that are authorized to display scroller:
//Seperate multiple domains each with a comma (",")
//For example: $allowedDomains="dynamicdrive.com, javascriptkit.com"
//OR enter a blank string to allow any domain (ie: for RSS feed syndication):
$allowedDomains="";


I have tried changing all relative paths to absolutes, but had the same results: the "initializing" message shows, disappears, and the box remains empty.

I have tried changing the chosen feed, but no change in the problem's symptoms. (When viewing the DD Pausing RSS scroller demo page using the same browser/computer, I am able to see the RSS feed titles scroll (we're talking only about "demo 1" here by the way)

I noticed that the cache_dir variable in the scrollerbridge.php file is set as 'cache'. I changed this once to '/cache' and had the same symptoms and results. I changed it back to the 'cache'.

I tried commenting out the @checkdomains($allowedDomains, $_SERVER["HTTP_REFERER"]); function but this had no effect either.

Since the demo on the DD page functions on my computer/browser, then I assume that the problem must be with my configuration of the files, the version of PHP running on the server, or maybe a configuration within PHP.

The page is running a couple of other scripts - so maybe there is a variable name conflict...though I doubt that the RSS scroller would get as far as "Initializing RSS scroller..." would it?

Any help, comments and suggestions are welcomed with much gratitude in advance.

Thank you,
-Ruth Ruthy

ddadmin
09-21-2009, 06:11 AM
Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

ruthyruth
09-21-2009, 11:43 AM
Ooops! Sorry! Here is the URL of the problem page:

http://....a.html

Thank you again for your assistance.
Regards,
-RR

ddadmin
09-22-2009, 05:34 AM
Looking at your page, the scroller doesn't simply go blank actually. It displays the error message: "I give up trying to fetch RSS feed.". This means there is an issue with your setup of one of the PHP files related to the script. When I try to call scrollerbridge.php on your page, I get a server error: http://ninas-world.digitalkatwalk.com/assets/lastrss/scrollerbridge.php This could be due to several reasons, such as your server not having the proper permissions to run PHP, or even if it does, not some of the functions called by lastRSS.php, which uses PHP's fopen() function.

An alternative to this script that will work regardless of your server set up would be: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex18/gajaxpausescroller.htm

ruthyruth
09-22-2009, 09:05 AM
Thanks! At least I have a solution until I can figure out if there is a way to change the PHP settings on the server and maybe use the first scroller.
Regards,
-RR