PDA

View Full Version : Step Carousel images not loading properly



mssheena24
09-12-2009, 04:53 PM
1) Script Title: Step Carousel

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/stepcarousel.htm

3) Describe problem: Hello, I've been having trouble with the step carousel when it first loads into a browser. I'm using it for images as a gallery on my website (linked below). The problem is, if you're viewing the website for the very first time on your browser (ie, firefox, or chrome), the images load on top of each other and don't slide to where they're supposed to go in the first place, so the carousel thinks there's only one "panel" and when you press on the left or right navigation buttons, it just acts on that one panel.

On ie and firefox if you close the browser and open up a new one to view the website, the images then proceeds to load properly the second time around. Is there a way to fix this?

JcarouselLite (http://www.gmarwaha.com/jquery/jcarousellite/#knownIssues), which is basically the same, mentions this issue on their "known issues" page:

"Sometimes when you use a lot of images, then the carousel may appear to flicker while constructing itself. To work-around this, just add these style rules to the carousel's div using your own css file. That should solve your problem.


.carousel {
position: relative;
visibility: hidden;
left: -5000px;
} ..."

I tried implementing this on the css of the step carousel but all it does is make the entire gallery disappear since the size of my carousel is different from the original.

Please help and thank you in advance!


www.miss-sheena.com/home.html (http://www.miss-sheena.com/home.html)

ddadmin
09-13-2009, 05:01 AM
With Step Carousel script at least, this typically happens if you haven't defined an explicit width for each panel when you set it up. See two ways to set panel widths (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/stepcarousel_suppliment.htm) for more info.

mssheena24
09-14-2009, 06:13 AM
Thanks so much! I think that fixed it! =] <3