PDA

View Full Version : I need help

Freeman
08-29-2005, 03:47 PM
I don't know If what I want is java or html but I need help. i would like to put a picture on the background of a page and have the text scroll over it. I don't know how to do this beacuse I am kinda new to the whole scripting thing. If you could help it would be greatly appreciated. JF

Twey
08-29-2005, 04:02 PM
I think what you mean is something like
<style type="text/css">
body { background-attachment: fixed; }
</style>

Add it to the head.

Freeman
08-30-2005, 01:59 PM
So how do I tell it what picture I want as the background? Is it a href after the background attachment?

Freeman
08-30-2005, 02:02 PM
by the way I am new to this whole scripting thing and I am the webmaster at my school. So I get to learn how to do it and do it all at the same time. So any other suggestions that you might have would be greatly appreciated. JF

Twey
08-30-2005, 04:09 PM
Sorry:
<style type="text/css">
body {
background-image: url('images/image.png');
background-attachment: fixed;
}
</style>

Freeman
08-31-2005, 01:39 PM
Is there a way that is less code in html?

Twey
08-31-2005, 02:02 PM
Less code? It's only six lines.
That is the advisable, standards-compliant way to do it. There are others, but they are now deprecated/obsolete and one of them (bgproperties="fixed") was IE-only in the first place.

Freeman
08-31-2005, 02:26 PM
<style type="text/css">
@media visual{
body{
background-image: ('/pics/pic1.jpg');
background-attachment: fixed;
}
}

all.clsMenuItemNS{font: bold x-small Verdana; color: white; text-decoration: none;}
.clsMenuItemIE{text-decoration: none; font: bold xx-small Verdana; color: white; cursor: hand;}
A:hover {color: red;}
</style>

Here is where I put it. Does it matter that there is another thing in the style before it closes or did I enter it wrong or am I just a retard?

Twey
08-31-2005, 03:37 PM
Nope, that's fine.
After Mike's had a look at it:

<style type="text/css">