PDA

View Full Version : problems positioning AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu v2.2



furniturevision
06-23-2009, 10:00 PM
1) Script Title: AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu v2.2

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem: been a newbie I did implemented really well without much problems. When I make it worked, I found 2 problems:

My site http://furniturevision.com

first problem: In Chrome looks very nice; the menu shows right at the bottom of the link image. BUT in Explorer and Firefox, the menu it goes all the way to the top of the screen. Which it looks horrible. I even tried changing orientation "lr" , but shows a little lower and to the right, which neither works for me.

Second problem: I'm trying to do "Target.com" style of multi column menu; I followed the instruction but, it always shows vertical in one row, even I put the "efc" in place.

I appreciate any help in this matter .
Thanks ! :)

ddadmin
06-24-2009, 01:37 AM
At a glance your menu actually looks fine (in FF3). The reason it's dropping from the very top of the screen is intentional- when the menu is too long to drop down from the anchor without obscuring parts of the drop down menu, it moves itself to the top of the screen instead. If you shorten the length of the menu, you'll see how the script will no longer do this.

furniturevision
06-24-2009, 10:13 PM
Thank you so much !!
You are right, I cut half of the menu list and it shows where I want.
But, I'm still having the second problem; I can't make the menu break in multiple
columns, even if I apply the required "efc" break.
Any idea, what i'm doing wrong ? :confused:
Thanks again !! :)

ddadmin
06-25-2009, 12:30 AM
For your 2nd question, the reason is since you've assigned an incorrect CSS class to your drop down menu inside menucontents.js. Instead of the default "anylinkmenu" class, you should use "anylinkmenucols". In other words, the code in red highlights the change you should make:


var linklivingmenu={divclass:'anylinkmenucols', inlinestyle:'', linktarget:''} //First menu variable. Make sure "anylinkmenu1" is a unique name!
linklivingmenu.cols={divclass:'column', inlinestyle:''}


to:

furniturevision
06-29-2009, 06:37 PM
Thanks !
Works great !!:) One more thing: how can I make bold or italic some of the text links inside of the multi columns menu ?:confused:
Appreciate !!

ddadmin
06-30-2009, 07:41 AM
Thanks !
Works great !!:) One more thing: how can I make bold or italic some of the text links inside of the multi columns menu ?:confused:
Appreciate !!

You should be able to just insert the desired HTML tags into the menu titles inside menucontents.js to achieve the desired effect. For example:


anylinkmenu3.items=[
["Dynamic Drive", "http://www.dynamicdrive.com/"],
["CSS Drive", "http://www.cssdrive.com/"],
["JavaScript Kit", "http://www.javascriptkit.com/"],
["Coding Forums", "http://www.codingforums.com/"],
["JavaScript Reference", "http://www.javascriptkit.com/jsref/", "efc"],
["CNN", "http://www.cnn.com/"],
["<b>MSNBC</b>", "http://www.msnbc.com/"],
["Google", "http://www.google.com/"],
["BBC News", "http://news.bbc.co.uk", "efc"],
["News.com", "http://www.news.com/"],
["SlashDot", "http://www.slashdot.com/"],
["Digg", "http://www.digg.com/"],
["Tech Crunch", "http://techcrunch.com"] //no comma following last entry!
]

furniturevision
07-01-2009, 08:21 PM
Thank you so much !!:)

katieoc
07-01-2009, 09:39 PM
Thanks!