PDA

View Full Version : linking to an image in frog.js

newbie66
06-23-2009, 08:10 AM
apologies if this is a really dumb question or if i'm not even on the right website to ask it but i'm wondering if its possible to link to a specific image in the frog.js image gallery and how. eg i have right sidebar links on other pages which , if a user clicks image 4 link, they will be taken to the 4th image in the gallery on the gallery page. Thanks in advance for any help as i'm new to javascript and really have to think about html too.

Jesdisciple
06-23-2009, 10:02 PM
That's a neat library, but he didn't expose much of an API for doing what you want; it's all about the UI instead. I was going to suggest that we make our own array for this and generate the HTML from that array, but the library already makes an array from the HTML. So I added a method (below) to it.

But first I want to note a few things about the library's code. EDIT: Yeah, I am being rather pedantic but hopefully someone will learn if I detail his mistakes.

Least importantly, he doesn't use the standard event registration model (http://www.quirksmode.org/js/events_advanced.html). On that page, ppk lists both models as temporarily deprecated; this confuses me as scripts can easily achieve cross-browser compatibility in this area while being future-proof as well.

He also makes 5 global variables (http://yuiblog.com/blog/2006/06/01/global-domination/). The configurations could have been constructor arguments (that is, if Prototype has a certain simple feature in Class.create()). The initFrog function probably shouldn't exist in the library itself, but even so it could have been anonymous. EDIT: Oh, myFrog is also implied global (another poor practice) - so that's 6 of them.