PDA

View Full Version : switch button code



SCJVS1
08-24-2005, 09:45 PM
Hello People,

I am having a problem with my switch button code (original, not 2)
and was wondering if anyone could help me with the code. All my buttons are conneced in some way. The first five buttons close to the top of my page work just the way I want them. ex: Click on one button a section of information opens up; then open another button, and the first button you opened closes automaticaliy.

How can I get the second section of buttons to do the same. I know that most of the problem comes from having buttons inside of another button, but I don't know how to go about fixing the problem. I would post the source code, but its way too long. I will give you the address instead to save time, and if your brave enough to look at the code, good luck. My buttons are off to the left side of the screen and the page is called:

www.scjvs.com (http://www.scjvs.com)

Thank You,
SCJVS

shachi
08-26-2005, 05:29 AM
It works fine for me with FF.

SCJVS1
08-26-2005, 05:57 PM
It looks ok, yes. But I want the second group of buttons to "fold up" just like the first group of buttons. If you open up any of the first group of buttons, then the buttons automatically close one right after another when clicking on a new button. If you open up the second group of button, no matter which buttons you click on, they stay open, and don't close when you click on a new button. I want to know how to get the second pair to close when you click on a new button. Thank you for your comment though. bye

SCJVS1
09-20-2005, 07:21 PM
could someone give me an idea of how to fix the problem. Getting the second group of buttons to close once opening another button doesn't work. They stay open, could someone help me figure out how to get the second pair of buttons to do the same thing like the first pair of buttons. please :)

Thank you

p.s. Again the site is scjvs.com (http://scjvs.com)

mattster
09-21-2005, 09:06 AM
Your code, without wishing to sound rude, is all over the place :eek: . I am surprised the page loads properly at all.

You have broken tags everywhere, open div's without closing closing them, same with span's and font's as well as some random closing tags. You also have things like: <u><b> Joe Stockham </u></b> which is just plain wrong, it should be <u><b> Joe Stockham </b></u>.

If i were you i would fix all of these problems first and then see if it works, i am sure it probably will. Also, it really helps to have some form of formatting of your code to help you when you have problems like this, at the moment it is extremely hard to read.

Hope this helps.

Twey
09-21-2005, 02:50 PM
Try using the validator at http://validator.w3.org. Refine your code until it validates as HTML 4.01.