PDA

View Full Version : AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu - "Operation Aborted" in Internet Explorer



blaze
05-31-2009, 05:04 PM
1) Script Title: AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem: The script is working very well on my website in FireFox. When I go to it in Internet Explorer 7, I experience the following error: "Internet Explorer cannot open the Internet site. Operation Aborted".

After some research, this must be related to the scripts on my page, and I am only using the AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu scripts, nothing else. I have double-checked your site in IE and it works fine. I went through the steps again to ensure that I have the scripts in the appropriate locations on my website, and I do. I am wondering if you had any suggestions on what might be causing this or how to fix it, as it seems to be an issue with my site. Here is the URL:

http://www.essexhotelmanagement.com/new_site/

Thank you in advance.

Thank you.

blue8019
05-31-2009, 07:56 PM
Blaze, I had the same issues with the anylink.js in IE. I finally gave up after three days of trying to fix it for I wanted the menus to pop where the mouse was, not and to the top left or bottom left of the screen. I mapped an image of North America with polygons and when the User was on the East Coast of the US, the menus were on the left and then the Southwast Pacific Coast menu would pop up, etc, etc.

I finally settled on using the pop-it menu (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/popit.htm) and made all of my necessary changes required. It works great in IE but does not work at all in Firefox 3.0.10/Mozilla 5.0.

This is a much simpler routine and doesn't need the menucontents.js and anylinkmenu.css files either. This might help..............

vitan
06-01-2009, 06:09 AM
Same thing happened to me.

Solved it by moving the initiation script outside the closing HTML tag.

Hope it does the work for you as well, just make sure that:

<script type="text/javascript">
anylinkmenu.init("menuanchorclass");
</script>

is the last thing on the page.

ddadmin
06-01-2009, 08:04 AM
Hmm I'll going to take a closer look at this issue later today, and if I find anything, post back here.

buacca339
06-01-2009, 06:13 PM
I am also encountering the same situation. I have tried moving the lines around with not luck. A couple of web searches come up with some suggestions like moving the script around. A few others also talk about using a DIV tag or enclosing the script in a functions neither of which I am entirely sure how to do.

Any help would be appreciated.

ddadmin
06-01-2009, 08:38 PM
I believe I've isolated the problem. In IE, trying to dynamically create and add an element to the document (ie: using document.body.appendChild()) can be hazardous if done before the page has fully loaded, or at least its DOM contents. Depending on the contents and layout of your page, this could cause the "Operation Aborted" Error you saw in IE6 and 7. I've just updated Anylink JS Menu to v2.2, which overcomes this by initializing the menu onDomContentReady. Apart from resolving this issue, it also means you can now call the init() function to start the menu in the HEAD section of your page, instead of at the bottom of the document.

To update the script, go to the script page (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm), and just replace the old .js file with the latest version.

blaze
06-02-2009, 12:05 AM
That is awesome, thank you so much for the help! This is a real time saver for me & I can't wait to try out the new version.

buacca339
06-02-2009, 12:12 PM
Thanks, I have downloaded the new .js files and the error appears to be gone, going to try a few more things but it looks good.

Thanks for all your efforts.

ddadmin
06-02-2009, 04:58 PM
Great, let me know if you find any issues with the updated version as far as resolving the aforementioned bug above.