PDA

View Full Version : Drop Downs Do Not Show Up



zookrewe
05-15-2009, 03:18 PM
1) Script Title: Drop Down Tabs

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/droptabmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:I installed everything, but the drop down parts of the menu never show up. I have tried several scripts with the same error. That tells me that I am probably doing something wrong. I am using FrontPage 2003.



The test page is at http://www.duvalschools.org/sandalwood/test_page2.htm (http://www.duvalschools.org/sandalwood/test_page.htm)

Thank you.

ddadmin
05-15-2009, 04:33 PM
I don't see a DD script on that page actually. FYI though, it seems your reference to the .js file on your page is broken:


<script type="text/javascript" src="Templates/csshorizontalmenu.js">

Check the path to make sure it's correct.

zookrewe
05-15-2009, 05:38 PM
I was trying too many things earlier and I think I had code from 2 different scripts on the page.

Please try now. I redid the test page from scratch and it should have ONLY the script from the drop down tabs.

The URL was http:www.duvalschools.org/sandalwood/test_page2.htm

Thank you very much for your help so far.

ddadmin
05-15-2009, 05:48 PM
Your page is missing the entire header portion of the script, which includes references to the .js file, .css file etc. For example:


<script type="text/javascript" src="dropdowntabfiles/dropdowntabs.js">

/***********************************************
* Drop Down Tabs Menu- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

</script>

<!-- CSS for Drop Down Tabs Menu #1 -->
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="dropdowntabfiles/ddcolortabs.css" />

Please see the installation instructions for the script again on the script page.

zookrewe
05-15-2009, 05:53 PM
I'm sorry. I had it on there originally, but forgot to add it when I redid the page. I added it, uploaded the change, and it still does not work. The menu buttons are on there and the rollover changes work, but the drop down menu (text only) is constantly visible.

ddadmin
05-18-2009, 05:57 AM
The paths to the .js and .css files are invalid on your page, for example:


<script type="text/javascript" src="Templates/dropdowntabfiles/dropdowntabs.js">

/***********************************************
* Drop Down Tabs Menu- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

</script>

Based on what you have, the browser expects to find the .js file at: http://www.duvalschools.org/sandalwood/Templates/dropdowntabfiles/dropdowntabs.js , which as you can see is broken.

zookrewe
05-18-2009, 10:10 AM
How should it read to get it to work?

ddadmin
05-18-2009, 05:40 PM
Where is dropdowntabs.js located on your server? You need to replace the part in red above so it points to that location.