PDA

View Full Version : Help with IE8 and Lytebox



bengaon
05-08-2009, 01:22 PM
Hello!

I'm using Lytebox on my site, and I recently upgraded my browser to IE8.

When I upgraded to IE8, I noticed that the Lytebox doesn't work good: It sometimes opens and immediately closed, and sometimes it opens, but without draken the scenn, like it should.

Here is a link to the Lytebox on my site:
https://www.epays.co.il/Demo.asp (Just click on one of the "ePays" buttons in the content area, or click on the third link near the main picture - the one with the screen icon). Don't forget to test it using IE8.


I'm posting the question here, because the forum on the Lytebox site is inactive.

Can someone help me?

Thank's,
Yarin.

Snookerman
05-08-2009, 01:24 PM
I does it in Fx3.0.10 as well (sorry for the bad news, I'll take a look to see what's wrong).

bengaon
05-09-2009, 09:00 AM
Anyone...?

bengaon
05-11-2009, 05:57 PM
.....?

StephenJII
05-18-2009, 07:10 PM
I've got a fix for this on my blog at Launching Guild Launch (http://guildlaunch.blogspot.com/):

http://guildlaunch.blogspot.com/2009/05/making-lytebox-work-in-ie8-close.html

just-2-answer
11-09-2009, 05:42 PM
It might be a little late, but try to activate the compatibility mode of the IE8 by adding the following line to the HEAD section:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=7" />

By doing so visitors of your page using Internet Explorer 8 will see it from an IE7 point of view and everything works fine. At least on my homepage it worked out fine.

nahomy_a
11-28-2009, 06:55 PM
Hey people, i use Lytebox and it works fine on firefox and Google Chrome but, i noticed when you test lytebox on Internet Explorer 8 it doesnt work correctly, well i have a good new, Lytebox is working perfectly now!!! i just took the file lytebox.js from www.dolem.com (http://www.dolem.com/lytebox/) i didnt even edited it :confused:, i just copy and pasted the .js and w00t its working now, i know this is not the best way to fix the problem, but at least the script is working n my website now :rolleyes:

if you want the lytebox.js go here: http://www.dolem.com/lytebox/lytebox_demo.js
:o

jscheuer1
11-28-2009, 07:50 PM
Hey people, i use Lytebox and it works fine on firefox and Google Chrome but, i noticed when you test lytebox on Internet Explorer 8 it doesnt work correctly, well i have a good new, Lytebox is working perfectly now!!! i just took the file lytebox.js from www.dolem.com (http://www.dolem.com/lytebox/) i didnt even edited it :confused:, i just copy and pasted the .js and w00t its working now, i know this is not the best way to fix the problem, but at least the script is working n my website now :rolleyes:

if you want the lytebox.js go here: http://www.dolem.com/lytebox/lytebox_demo.js
:o

Using the script is a good solution. I'm thinking it may have been updated to work in IE 8 or in some other fashion that also fixed whatever the problem was in IE 8. It is also entirely possible that there never was a problem in IE 8, just sloppy HTML coding on the part of those that were having trouble with it in that browser. Many browsers, especially IE browsers, though not just IE browsers, require valid (or at least valid in certain ways) HTML code for any of these 'box' type scripts to function properly.

dimitrivisser
03-02-2010, 10:59 AM
It also doesn't display the close, next, previous, play and pause buttons anymore in IE8. It is not a problem with HTML coding on my page. Even on the page of Lytebox itself it gives problems when opening example of a slideshow...

jscheuer1
03-03-2010, 02:58 AM
Even on the page of Lytebox itself it gives problems when opening example of a slideshow...

You are correct. For now, pending an update, if you want to use Lytebox:

http://www.dolem.com/lytebox/

you will have to force IE 7 compatibility mode for your page(s) that use it by including this meta tag:


<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=EmulateIE7">

as one of the first in your document. Place it before the title tag in the head. (untested, but should work)

If you want more help:

Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

kopcap
03-28-2010, 04:44 PM
Actually the problem is perfectly solved here http://nederveld.wordpress.com/2009/07/02/lytebox-and-internet-explorer-8/
As you may read the problem is caused because there is no check for IE8 at the script. I tried the solution above and it works perfectly. I suggest you to do the same - no need to use a compatibility hack. I used it on my site, check this page to see it in action (use the script if you want): http://evroweb.com/en/portfolio.php

t3553r
05-10-2010, 04:50 AM
Even after using the fix listed above image maps still don't work.
In the past you could simply edit lytebox.js and change

document.getElementsByTagName('a')
to:
document.getElementsByTagName('area')
and the lytebox script would work for image map links, but ever since this ie8 crap it doesn't work anymore.....any ideas?

Aethon
08-14-2010, 01:43 AM
Check this link. With 10 lines of code, he seems to have fixed the problem.

http://nederveld.wordpress.com/2009/07/02/lytebox-and-internet-explorer-8/