PDA

View Full Version : Resolved AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu



NirvanaBlues
04-18-2009, 01:42 PM
1) Script Title: AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem:

I had previously tried and tested AnyLink CSS and had no insurmountable difficulties. That result is here, http://scfoundation.bravehost.com/indexRV417-3.html (http://scfoundation.bravehost.com/indexRV417-3.html)

I am now hoping to use AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu.
My goal is to be able to make site wide changes to the drop down menu with out having to re-edit each page individually.
The information and menu hierarchy is still being sussed out.

I have tried and tested the AnyLink JS Drop Down Menu…the unfortunate results are here.
http://scfoundation.bravehost.com/indexRV417-Menu.html

I have attached the external js and css file to examination.

Note: My skills could be best classified as those of a mildly talented amateur. To my credit, however I am tenacious, determined, and patient when attempting to learn new things!

-Peace-

2631

2632

2633

NirvanaBlues
04-20-2009, 04:17 PM
Any guidance or suggestions to enable me with a solution will be gratefully accepted.
Many thanks in advance…

ddadmin
04-20-2009, 08:22 PM
There's a syntax error inside your menucontents.js:


var about2={divclass:'anylinkmenu', inlinestyle:'width:190px; background:#FFFFFF', linktarget:''} //Second menu variable. Same precaution.


Specifically, you're missing the closing apostrophe in red above. When in doubt, revert back to the original menucontents.js file used by the script demo, then make changes to that file.

NirvanaBlues
04-20-2009, 08:54 PM
I corrected the syntax error inside the menucontents.js as advised
and uploaded the file.

Yet, the problem persists.

When I first attempted to implement this code, I had some uncertainties concerning the menuanchorclass.
Could that be my stumbling block?

My profound thanks for reply and whatever further assistance you may lend.

ddadmin
04-21-2009, 02:23 AM
You're welcome. Looking at your menucontents.js file, there is another error it seems. You have an extra


]

at the very end which should not be there.

NirvanaBlues
04-21-2009, 03:03 AM
Shaved off the extra bracket…still no change.
Would looking at the bits inside the page shed light on the problem?
Here is what I added…


<div id="menu">
<ul>
<li><!--1st anchor link-->
<p><a href="" class="menuanchorclass"
rel="home1">Home</a></p>
</li>
<li><!--2nd anchor link-->
<p><a href="" class="menuanchorclass"
rel="about2">About SCF</a></p>
</li>

Your patience is commendable…

ddadmin
04-21-2009, 04:35 AM
Ok, spotted another problem. At the end of your page, you're calling the wrong function:


<script type="text/javascript">
//anylinkcssmenu.init("menu_anchors_class") //call this function at the very *end* of the document!
anylinkcssmenu.init("menuanchorclass")
</script>

It should be:


<script type="text/javascript">
//anylinkmenu.init("menu_anchors_class") //call this function at the very *end* of the document!
anylinkmenu.init("menuanchorclass")
</script>

Not sure why you were calling "anylinkcssmenu", which belongs to a different menu.

p.s: Please try and format any code in your post using the CODE tags. It just makes it easier to read.

NirvanaBlues
04-21-2009, 01:19 PM
Bravo! It worked.

No clue as to why I erroneously referenced the menu, best guess…looking at to many things for too long with wavering frustration tolerance.

All gratitude for this help and kindness.
Please advise how proper thanks should be given in our site credits.

I am in your debt.
-Namaste-

ddadmin
04-22-2009, 06:56 AM
Not a problem, you're welcome. :)