PDA

View Full Version : script conflict causing IE error



gylim78
04-12-2009, 03:56 PM
1) Script Title:
Lightbox 2.04a

Ajax Pagination
Ajax tabs


2) Script URL (on DD):
http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/lightbox2.04a/

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxpaginate/index.htm
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/index.htm


3) Describe problem:
When lightbox is used with either of the other 2 scripts. IE will give an operation aborted error. Works ok in every other browser. When used with ajax tabs content, the error will come when the countries.init() line is called. Just removing that line will allow the page to load. There is no problem when I am using the old lightbox ver 1. Is there anyway to solve the conflict ?

jscheuer1
04-12-2009, 04:54 PM
There may be no easy or obvious way to resolve this. I suspect it arises from some odd IE specific conflict between one or more of the support scripts for Lightbox and the other scripts you are trying.

The best chance of spotting it would be if you could give us a link to a demo of the problem:

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

However, there are numerous Lightbox clones around. Perhaps one of those that doesn't use the prototype script library will work out for you. In fact, that's probably why the original lightbox doesn't conflict - it doesn't use prototype. The version of Lightbox you are trying to use is not needed unless you are utilizing its 'firstlight' or linking features, or depending upon its AJAX friendly nature. Even at that, at least some other lightbox type scripts that don't act like that already could be made to do any of those with a little modification.

Thickbox I believe is a good possibility. I worked out a method for making it AJAX friendly here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showpost.php?p=164296&postcount=2

But there are many, many other Lightbox type scripts around, and depending upon the features you need, at least several should be able to be made to work out.

gylim78
04-13-2009, 03:58 PM
Thickbox solved the problem !! Thanks alot :)

I hope Microsoft will start making better browsers. Damn irritating that it works on all the other browsers except IE. And the worse part is that IE is still the most used browser in the market !!