PDA

View Full Version : Need help with C Motion Gallery



vmax29
08-13-2005, 04:53 PM
C Motion Gallery
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/cmotiongallery.htm

Hello,
I am trying to make this work on my site and I can not get the scrolling to work. I tried this first on a test index page here.

http://www.frogsandfaeries.com/indexcopy1.htm

As you can see I was able to put the gallery where I needed to but no luck scrolling. I added the 2 files gallerystyle.css and motiongallery.js to my sites main directory. Is there something I am overlooking? I do not have much experience in web design so thanks for your help.

Sean

jscheuer1
08-13-2005, 05:21 PM
Script conflict! Change this on your page:

<body bgcolor="#EFF4F4" text="#000000" onLoad="MM_preloadImages ... u/supportov.gif')">to:

<body bgcolor="#EFF4F4" text="#000000" onLoad="fillup();MM_preloadImages ... u/supportov.gif')">and remove this:

window.onload=fillupfrom the script (motiongallery.js).

vmax29
08-13-2005, 06:25 PM
John,

That did the trick! I really appreciate your help. It now scrolls nicely.
Thanks,

Sean

vmax29
08-13-2005, 09:26 PM
One other quick question as I work on this is there a limit to the size of the gallery?

Sean

jscheuer1
08-13-2005, 09:48 PM
Do you mean the number of pictures? If so, not in any practical manner. If you mean the size of the images, the larger they are, the worse they will look.

vmax29
08-13-2005, 10:51 PM
Yes the number of pictures the gallery can hold.

It seems ok with with a 220 pixel height setting on the motion container. It is easier this way because I won't need to resize my preloaded index pictures and I think this is keping the pictures clean. I also reset the background to match (having fun now) and it seems to be working ok so i'm going to try to stuff it with more photos. I was concerned if the load time was a factor if someone has a slower connection but to have the inventory on the fromt page to catch someones attention is great. Also is there a way to keep the borders uniform, I seem to be losing them as I add more photos. Here is the work in progress.

http://www.frogsandfaeries.com/indexcopy1.htm

A real hot steamy jungle day here in NJ so it is a good day to sit down and do this.

jscheuer1
08-13-2005, 11:01 PM
I didn't notice any problem with the borders. You mention a good point, the number of images visa vis load time. That will be the same as loading pictures into the browser without the script except a little better since most of the images will initially be unseen while they load.

Jeffb
10-15-2005, 11:11 AM
I have also a scroll problem.

I tested the code it in a blank page, there it works. But,
If i put the code into another div it doesn't scroll.

Please HELP. I dont know what to do to fix this problem.

jscheuer1
10-17-2005, 06:10 AM
That could be so many things:

.

Jeffb
10-19-2005, 01:47 PM
click here for the page where i am testing on (http://www.euro-info.nl/test2.php)

I have no idea why it doesn't scroll when i past the code in another div...


<div id="pleft">
<br><center>Glamour</center><br><br>

<div id="motioncontainer" style="position:relative; width:294px; height:102px; overflow:hidden;">
<div id="motiongallery" style="position:absolute; left:0; top:0; white-space: nowrap;">

<nobr id="trueContainer">
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com"><img src="images/test.gif" border=1></a>
</nobr>

</div>
</div>
</div>

//EDIT:

wait a second, it doesnt work with <body onLoad="MM_preloadImages('images/m.gif','images/m1.gif','images/mb.gif')">
So the solution is to skip the onLoad on the page of the cmotion gallery?
I'm gonna mis it..

jscheuer1
10-19-2005, 02:13 PM
This appears to refer to a script or function that doesn't exist on or linked to your page:


onLoad="MM_preloadImages('images/m.gif','images/m1.gif','images/mb.gif')"

Get rid of it and it should fix the problem. If I am wrong and the above is needed/used, then it must be changed to:


onLoad="MM_preloadImages('images/m.gif','images/m1.gif','images/mb.gif');fillup();"

and the line:


window.onload=fillup

must be removed from motiongallery.js

I'm 99% sure it is the first case.

Jeffb
10-19-2005, 02:22 PM
Well, it is the 1% ;) I needed the body onload script.

I fixed the problem with your 2nd option!

Now the gallery works, and i still have the onload function for my images(which caused the error before). thankx !! :D