PDA

View Full Version : HV & Accordian style



PhyllisJ
04-05-2009, 04:21 PM
I'm looking for an Accordian Menu style that can have a menu array javascript file like the HV Menu has where you only have to change menu items in one file instead of on every page of your website. I use the HV Menu on my own website, but I'm building a site for someone where the Accordian Menu will work better. But one note, also, is that the menu will be in a table. Any suggestions? Thanks ahead of time for your help!

dan.technician
04-05-2009, 05:39 PM
If the whole website was a table would it be possible to use an iFrame in one cell to view your content and use the <a href>'s target attribute. I know everyone says not to use frames but I think that if you don't want to update the menu on every page that iFrame's are the only option. Contact me for more help if needed. Good luck.
Hope this helps. Dan.

PhyllisJ
04-05-2009, 05:46 PM
I'll have to look into the iFrame thought. Thanks for the suggestion.

dan.technician
04-05-2009, 05:49 PM
I can help you with iFrames if you need any help, to my opinion they can be very useful since I am using them on the website I am building currently and I have used them on webpages I have made previously. Dan.

dan.technician
04-05-2009, 05:57 PM
These codes may be useful to you:
The actual iFrame:

<iframe id="iframe1" src="http://www.dynamicdrive.com" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%"><p>To view this content, please upgrade your browser.</p></iframe>
I'm pretty sure you are familiar with this coding if not contact me.
In the menu:

<a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums" target="iframe1" style="bold">DD Forum</a>
Good luck.
Dan.

PhyllisJ
04-05-2009, 06:58 PM
The Accordion Menu I was looking at is this one: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ddaccordionmenu-bullet.htm

And I was wondering if it would work with a Javascript menu array being called in instead of having the menu listed on every page with <ul> and <li> tags.

I'm not sure if iFrames would work for this or if I actually want to use frames. The website will be set up in tables so I can get the desired look and layout.

dan.technician
04-05-2009, 07:17 PM
It will work becuase in the section where it is coded with "<a href"'s. e.g.
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/news/">Web Design News</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/examples/">CSS Examples</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/main/csscompressor/">CSS Compressor</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6">CSS Forums</a></li>
</ul>

You could still easily add the target attribute and it should work:
<li><a target="iframe1" href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/news/">Web Design News</a></li>
<li><a target="iframe1" href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/examples/">CSS Examples</a></li>
<li><a target="iframe1" href="http://www.cssdrive.com/index.php/main/csscompressor/">CSS Compressor</a></li>
<li><a target="iframe1" href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6">CSS Forums</a></li>
</ul>

Hope this helps. Dan.

dan.technician
04-05-2009, 07:27 PM
I know you want a table each page and not have to adjust the menu on each page every time you add a page or link. The way I see would be easier is to have on your main page a table lets say 2 columns by 3 rows. In the top row you have your header or whatever you want. In the second row, in the 1st column you have the menu and in the same row but 2nd column you have the iFrame where the content is viewed. And in the third, a footer or whatever you want. And you'd have no hassle with the menu.
But it's your website and this was just an example.
Good luck with your website. I hope this helped. Dan.