PDA

View Full Version : ddsmoothmenu help



khouran
03-17-2009, 04:47 PM
1) Script Title: ddsmoothmenu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem: If I want to have the menu as part of an include file for my header - it works on the main page. But, for some reason, the arrows and drop-down features do not work on any sub-pages. It's the same code, same header, etc. Any ideas?

ddadmin
03-18-2009, 04:46 AM
Simply specify absolute URLs to the arrow images inside the .js file, ie:


arrowimages: {down:['downarrowclass', 'http://www.mysite.com/down.gif', 23], right:['rightarrowclass', 'http://www.mysite.com/right.gif']},

khouran
03-18-2009, 02:25 PM
It didn't make any difference. I'm wondering if I should go with the All Levels menu instead? We are talking about placing a flash banner toward the top of the page, and it looks like this menu won't overlap?

khouran
03-18-2009, 06:18 PM
Not only do the arrows not appear, but there are no drop downs. The top menu looks the same (except for the arrows) and it highlights, etc. However, the drop-down functionality is not working.

It's the same code as the main page - part of the same include file, etc.

ddadmin
03-18-2009, 09:35 PM
I'm wondering if I should go with the All Levels menu instead? We are talking about placing a flash banner toward the top of the page, and it looks like this.

If you anticipate the drop down menus overlapping Flash or Java content, yes, you should use All Levels Menu, since it contains features to properly handle that.

Regarding the arrow images though, specifying absolute URLs to them inside the script should work for sure already. I've corrected a typo in the code I posted above, which should be:


arrowimages: {down:['downarrowclass', 'http://www.mysite.com/down.gif', 23], right:['rightarrowclass', 'http://www.mysite.com/right.gif']},

khouran
03-19-2009, 06:08 PM
Darn - I set the arrows like you said, and still no luck. Very frustrating because - as I said, it's the same code and in the same include file. Strange.

We are going to incorporate a flash banner on the top of our site - and I can't have it go behind that. It wouldn't matter on the other pages - but that's the page with the most visits. I really wish this would work, I can't get anything else to look right.

Thank you for all of your help - and patience.

ddadmin
03-19-2009, 07:25 PM
Darn - I set the arrows like you said, and still no luck. Very frustrating because - as I said, it's the same code and in the same include file. Strange.

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

jmtomas
08-06-2010, 10:32 AM
Hi,
I have the same problem with arrow images. They don't appear.
Please have a look to my site: http://ibao.es/wp/
I specified absolute URL as you suggested by it still does not work.
Drop-down functionality is working ok.
Could you please help me?
Jose

jmtomas
08-06-2010, 11:17 AM
Now it's working. Arrow images were disabled by my theme.

.rightarrowclass{display:none;} */ /*arrows don't always show if enable due path problems so disabled*/
.downarrowclass{display:none;} */

It seems the creator of my theme didn't try to specify the absolute URL

Thanks anyway.