PDA

View Full Version : Help with Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v1.51)



Marty M
03-08-2009, 07:00 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v1.51)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem:
I am new to this and have been trying to build my own website for some time. A friend turned me on to this site and I have been making progress (thank you to you all who submit the scripts). I am now trying to use the Ultimate Fade-In slideshow and have been having trouble getting it to work.
First off, I do not know how to read/write the language, but have been doing OK with it when I closely look at the scripts and add in my stuff.
My issue is that I do not know how to "Configure the array "fadeimages[]" to reference the images you want to be displayed."
The script shows:"
var fadeimages=new Array()
//SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed
fadeimages[0]=["photo1.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.cssdrive.com", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax "

I would like to use some photos I have re-sized and put into a folder on my computer that is labeled " <img src="images/SplashpagePhotos/annie-oh.jpg" alt="Annie Oh rock climb in the Shawangunks" width="385" height="481" /> "

With that, I have tried to input that where the "photo1.jpg", "photo2.jpg" etc are and it didn't work. I have also tried just putting in the photo name "annie-oh.jpg" and that didn't work. It has been a few hours and I am getting frazzled and was hoping someone could help out.

Thanks,
Marty

Nile
03-09-2009, 03:04 AM
Here:


<img src="images/SplashpagePhotos/annie-oh.jpg" alt="Annie Oh rock climb in the Shawangunks" width="385" height="481" />

Notice:




var fadeimages=new Array()
//SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed
fadeimages[0]=["images/SplashpagePhotos/annie-oh.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
fadeimages[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.cssdrive.com", ""] //image with link syntax
fadeimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] //image with link and target syntax "

Marty M
03-09-2009, 12:42 PM
IT WORKS!

Hi Nile,
Thank you for the help with my question. I am excited it works.
One other thing popped up - how do I change the "image" wording shown at the bottom (in Safari & Opera) to the name of the image?

Thanks again,
Marty

jscheuer1
03-09-2009, 03:49 PM
If I'm understanding you correctly, you are talking about the status bar. Nothing should show there in regards to the images themselves. If the image is linked and the mouse hovers over the image, the URL of the link will show there in any browser that is so configured.

You can trick such browsers into showing a description there, but unless the script itself is modified, if the user clicks on an image, there will be an error. If you use the image's URL, then clicking the image will load the image, not really ideal either.

Most folks are happy just to use that field as a link to some other page or to not link the image at all (leaving that field blank).

The field I am talking about is (highlighted):


fadeimages2[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.cssdrive.com", ""] //image with link syntax

To leave it blank:


fadeimages2[1]=["photo2.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax

Marty M
03-09-2009, 04:25 PM
Thanks for the info.

I removed the info (links) as you suggested, but still in Safari and Opera (I don't have IE), there is still an object below the left hand bottom corner of the images.
In Safari it is a small blue bow with a "?" in it. In Opera it says "Image".

I am missing another step somewhere?

I appreciate all the help!
Marty

jscheuer1
03-09-2009, 04:41 PM
OK, that sounds like something else. On your page, in the body, you probably have something like:


<script type="text/javascript">
//new fadeshow(IMAGES_ARRAY_NAME, slideshow_width, slideshow_height, borderwidth, delay, pause (0=no, 1=yes), optionalRandomOrder)
new fadeshow(fadeimages, 140, 225, 0, 3000, 1, "R")
new fadeshow(fadeimages2, 140, 225, 0, 3000, 0)

</script>

Which is for two slide shows, but I imagine you are only using one. Just get rid of the second one:


<script type="text/javascript">
//new fadeshow(IMAGES_ARRAY_NAME, slideshow_width, slideshow_height, borderwidth, delay, pause (0=no, 1=yes), optionalRandomOrder)
new fadeshow(fadeimages, 140, 225, 0, 3000, 1, "R")
</script>

But, since I cannot be certain of what is happening without seeing the page, if you want more help:

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

Marty M
03-09-2009, 05:47 PM
Hey - that was it!

Crazy how such little things make such big differences...

I appreciate all your help. I hope to get the new site up online soon, when I do I'll send you the link.

Have a great day.
Marty