PDA

View Full Version : Smooth Navigational - IE 6.0



Antonio Melo
03-02-2009, 08:34 PM
1) Script Title:
Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.02)

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddsmoothmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:
All the Select Boxes present in the page will appear in front of the menu
(but just in IE 6.0)
I had some customization to fix it, but I guess
this is not the best way to solve the problem.

I've done these changes (red marked) lines(45 to 54):

$headers.hover(
function(e){
$(this).children('a:eq(0)').addClass('selected')
hideAllSelectBox();
},
function(e){
$(this).children('a:eq(0)').removeClass('selected')
showAllSelectBox();
}
)

and in the ddsmoothmenu.js I inserted that on the last lines:
// customization
function hideAllSelectBox(){
var x = document.getElementsByTagName("select");

for (i=0;x && i < x.length; i++)
x[i].style.visibility = "hidden";
}

function showAllSelectBox(){
var x = document.getElementsByTagName("select");

for (i=0;x && i < x.length; i++)
x[i].style.visibility = "visible";
}

If there's a simple way to solve the problem, I would like to know how to make it work in IE 6.0.

Thanx in advance, folks!

Antonio Melo

ddadmin
03-02-2009, 10:40 PM
A more elegant solution would be to use the IFRAME Shim technique (do a Google search), though I didn't add it into this script, since the goal for Smooth Navigational Menu was for it to be as lightweight as possible. If such a feature is important to you, you'll need to look at using All Levels Menu (http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddlevelsmenu/index.htm) instead.

Antonio Melo
03-02-2009, 11:30 PM
Actually I've tried the All Levels Menu, but it didn't work in IE 6.0
even when I accessed the page you linked here in the post, as I
do mouse over on the menu, the whole page behind becomes blank.

That was nasty! (hehehehe)

but... thank you about the shim technique.
I'll try that google search later.

C ya!

Antonio Melo

ddadmin
03-02-2009, 11:37 PM
Actually, All Levels Menu should work in IE6 just fine. I just loaded up my copy of IE6, and the menu functions correctly in it.

molendijk
03-03-2009, 12:31 AM
The All Levels Menu is not working fine in IE7 (under certain circumstances), see this (http://molendijk.110mb.com/include_menu9/include_menu9ddlevels/index.html?page1.html) --> Notes --->When using the DD All Levels Menu on IE7...
===
Arie Molendijk.

Antonio Melo
03-03-2009, 04:02 PM
hm... strange.

I've got my machine with IE 7 already installed,
but as my project needs to run in IE 6,
I've downloaded the IE6EOLAS and I'm running this one.

May this issue with the All Levels Menu
be related with this browser only?

Thank you guys!

Antonio Melo