PDA

View Full Version : Help: Scripts Disabled While Page Loads



stet
10-17-2004, 11:09 PM
I'm using the Switch Content Script (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/switchcontent.htm), and it works flawlessly, except for one problem that is probably not the fault of the script. In all browsers I tried (IE6, NS7 and FireFox), the script only works after the page has fully loaded. This is a problem for me, since there's an image that I (have to) access on another server, and it takes a while to load. Is there any way to get around this problem?

Thanks!

cr3ative
10-18-2004, 02:57 PM
An image preload script from Dynamic Drive could solve this problem. Otherwise, try hosting the slow image on www.imageshack.us - they're fast and free (but check copyrights on the image first of course).

cr3ative

ddadmin
10-18-2004, 09:06 PM
As cr3ative says, you may want to try and preload that external image so it loads ASAP. Regarding the script itself, unfortunately it can only be activated after the page has loaded. This is a fundamental design issue.

BradF
11-18-2004, 07:52 PM
Actually, I don't think the problem described above has to do with the slowness of the graphic loading, but rather some loop that this particular JS script runs through.

I've just posted about this problem on another thread related to the Contract Headers script, and I'm baffled on how to work around it.

Original question posted here:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=398

Need help on it if anyone can swoop in and save the day!