PDA

View Full Version : Javascript slideshow



bdog17
02-25-2009, 11:41 PM
I am still learning Javacsript and I am trying to build a slideshow for my home page. I have viewed all the slide shows on this site but havent found one that does everything I need.

I am basically looking for a slide show that resembles msn.com. I need the show to start on its own, be able to pause, be able to click next and previous, and be able to click the image to go to a page.

I am currently using this slide show, but it does not have back and next buttons http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/image4.htm


Thanks

jscheuer1
02-26-2009, 01:44 AM
Since you are a beginner this (Swiss Army Image Slideshow) may be a little challenging:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/swissarmy/index.htm

For so many reasons, it is currently one of the best and simplest for what you are after. There is also Simple Controls Gallery v1.3:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/simplegallery.htm

That's cooler looking 'out of the box' but a little trickier to work with.

If you want the easiest to configure script that may not be as forward compatible as the two already mentioned, see:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/dhtmlslide.htm

or:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/preloadslide.htm

bdog17
02-26-2009, 04:21 PM
Thank you, the second one is just what I was looking for

bdog17
02-27-2009, 06:39 PM
One thing that I just noticed with the slideshow from the second link is that my menu dropdown goes behind it when using Firefox. I went into the simplegallery.js and changed the zindex to 0 on this line

setting.$gallerylayers.eq(setting.bglayer).css({zIndex:0, opacity:0}) //background layer becomes foreground

but now on IE the word null appears in the top left corner of the images. Any suggestions. the site is www.brandwise.com

jscheuer1
02-28-2009, 08:51 AM
I tried playing with the style but the menu is so complex and perhaps also includes some unnecessary styles, that I couldn't find the right thing(s) to adjust that wouldn't also throw off the menu alignment. The basic idea though is to set the menu and all of its children each to either position:relative; or to position:absolute; (some may be one, some the other, whatever works) and all with a high z-index, like 10000. A different menu may be required.

bdog17
03-03-2009, 10:57 PM
I was able to figure it out, on lines 124 and 148, the html is set to null, so I just replaced it with ' '.