PDA

View Full Version : Step Carousel Viewer - Problem with multiple galleries on one page



paboden
02-25-2009, 10:21 AM
1) Script Title: Step Carousel Viewer

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/stepcarousel.htm

3) Describe problem: Hi there, I have a page that im trying to put multiple step carousels on. I have no problem getting the first carousel to work but cannot get the other 3 to work. each one of the other galleries gives me the error message: "There's an error with your set up of Carousel Viewer "gallery"!". I've gone through and configured everything that the documentation said to change for each occurance, but I'm still missing something. I've already spent several hours trying to get this fixed and would greatly appreciate any help.

The page is at www.philipbodendesigns.com/secondversion/index.php (http://www.philipbodendesigns.com/secondversion/). You will notice that there are no "images". Thats on purpose right now. I wanted to make sure that the carousels worked before I got the images ready.

oh, The image navigation buttons are also not showing up. They aren't important, but id also like to know if I'm missing something with them. Thank you and cheers.

jscheuer1
02-25-2009, 05:09 PM
Too much unique. Usually the problem is too little. The left side of the colons (:) are keys that the script uses to initialize the values on the right side of the colons. The left side keys need to remain the same for all initializations (get rid of the red) here and in similar:


stepcarousel.setup({
galleryid: 'printgallery', //id of carousel DIV
beltclass: 'belt2', //class of inner "belt" DIV containing all the panel DIVs
panel2class: 'panel2', //class of panel DIVs each holding content
autostep: {enable:true, moveby:1, pause:3000},
panel2behavior: {speed:500, wraparound:false, persist:false},
defaultbuttons: {enable: true, moveby: 1, leftnav: ['http://i34.tinypic.com/317e0s5.gif', -5, 80], rightnav: ['http://i38.tinypic.com/33o7di8.gif', -20, 80]},
statusvars: ['statusD', 'statusE', 'statusF'], //register 3 variables that contain current panel (start), current panel (last), and total panels
contenttype: ['inline'] //content setting ['inline'] or ['external', 'path_to_external_file']
})

paboden
02-25-2009, 08:57 PM
Thank you John, I appreciate your time and finding that error. I wish I could say that that fixed it, but its still giving me an error on the other 3 galleries. I tried getting rid of some of the other unique variables like "panel2-4" and made them all "panel", but still get the same error. Could it be caused by some conflict with the animatedcollapse script.
phil

jscheuer1
02-26-2009, 12:42 AM
I looked over the code a few times. I may have missed something, but the defaultbuttons object in each stepcarousel.setup looked OK. If you really think it's what you say, the obvious test would be to make a test page with everything you currently have except the animatedcollapse script.